CHERRY PLUM CHIA ALMOND SMOOTHIE BOWLS 📷 FOOD PHOTO SHOOT & RECIPE INCLUDED 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

It’s here! I mean, we’re there! Well however you want to look at it, 2017 you guys, it’s gonna be a good one I can just feel it!

Now that I’ve had a full week to get over my sadness that the Christmas season has to be over until next year and now that I’ve spent a few very long moments staring at my calendar in an attempt to grasp that time is still moving in spite of my wishful thinking, I think I’m finally getting some fresh inspiration for new beginnings. It’s the time of year when we’re all thinking about our goals and making plans for some of the things we’ll be doing this year. I’m guessing that more than a few of us have something on our list regarding health goals for this new year, especially after all the holiday indulgences. What do you say, today let’s be all about trying to get back into a balance, shall we?

Here's a few of my resolutions:

Oh, and have you made any resolutions for this year? Personally I’ve got a lot but the most realistic ones near the top of my list are things like:

  1. Mastering a stick shift – because I hate failing at something that scares me and I want to drive here so badly.
  2. Taking more pictures of real life, not just food – I do sort if have a real life outside the kitchen.
  3. Conquering Spanish – Where is my Matrix-style knowledge chip when I need it?
  4. Improving my time management skills – I never realized these were so lacking in my life until I started blogging.
  5. Becoming a better writer – I know there is a lot of space to get better here too.

Okay, I know many of you are shivering underneath piles of snow right now but for us down South things are finally heating up and the fruits & veggies are coming into full season. Recently there have been some of the most gorgeous cherry varieties, including one that is a favorite of my mom’s; Rainier cherries. They’re my favorite kind too and if you’ve never tried them before, then you need to. Put it on whatever form of list you’ve got for this year, whether it’s goals, resolutions, or must-dos. Since our fridge was overstocked on them last week I realized it was the perfect opportunity to add them to a new recipe -> hello smoothie bowls!

I think the last time I shared a smoothie bowl I explained my initial aversion to them the first time I heard the idea. The truth is that I thought they were really absurd. I remember thinking something like ‘Eating a smoothie with a spoon and topped with chunks, what’s that about???’ Yeah, I felt that way until I started seeing them all over the place and decided I should at least give them a chance and that’s when I changed my mind, they’re awesome.

I love this particular smoothie bowl because of all the color and, come on, it’s just really fun to say “chia” and “cherry” in the same title. They were made to go together. Also, these bowls are so fast and easy so you can prep them quickly on busy mornings or even make ahead the night before for a breakfast on the go. Actually, smoothies are something that, in my opinion, are acceptable anytime, anywhere. They’re great late at night to help curb those cravings too.

RECIPE

Ingredients

1 cup Rainier cherries (or preferred type), pitted
1 cup (about 4) ripe plums, pitted
1/4 cup raw almonds
1/4 cup chia seeds
1/4 teaspoon almond extract
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups almond milk
3 - 4 tablespoons maple syrup or honey (or to taste)

Toppings:
1/4 cup Rainier cherries (or preferred type), pitted
1/4 cup (about 1) ripe plums, pitted
1/4 cup raw almonds
2 tablespoons chia seeds

Instructions

  1. Combine all the ingredients for the smoothie in a blender and blend until smooth. For a thicker smoothie allow it to sit for at least 30 minutes to allow the chia seeds to thicken.
  2. Pour the smoothie into two bowls and top with the almonds, fruit, and chia seeds and grab a spoon!






AND A HUGE MASSIVE SHOUT OUT TO@rigaronib for designing my logo!!!! 

   

I am always open to feedback, and would love to know how you feel I could do better and please do not forget to

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME


PAY ME 100% STEEM POWER - BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

I love that I can see that you really love what you are doing.
Do only things which you love and do them with all your love.
That is the way to true longterm success.
Thank you for sharing your love :-)

It is my pleasure. Thanks for taking the time to comment!!


.
Happy new year :)

Glad you liked it, thanks so much for commenting!!

Smoothie bowl??? That i have to try ;)
Happy new year!!

Mmmmmm...I love having breakfast with you @gringalicious! We too eat smoothie bowls. It does sound a little weird at first, but once one actually puts that spoon in the mouth full of all that fresh yumminess, there's no going back. I love your posts and the high vibe food you share. One day I will eat with you!

So glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for joining me for breakfast. Yes, someday we will meet, no doubt

And enjoy some yummilicious awesomeness together!

Looks very tasty! Thanks for sharing, Gringalicious!
Upvoted & Followed.

So glad to have another follower. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment!!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 31. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.78 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 31 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

ANOTHER YEAR OF DELICIOUSNESS!

Thank you for the kind words @darthnava!!

As always elegant and great!

It just looks delicious, and very healthy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69718.72
ETH 3746.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81