BAKED CHAI LATTE DOUGHNUTS AND VANILLA BEAN ICING

in #food8 years ago

Hey Steemians!  Time to rise and shine because it is donut time! And furthermore, help me celebrate my third week anniversary on Steemit!

All donut pics are taken with my Nikon D5300 and Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Lens  

It’s finally Friday again, Yes! 

I hope you are in the mood for some doughnuts (or is it donuts? what’s the difference?)! Ha! I say that like it’s possible to not be in the mood for a doughnut. What a ridiculous notion. 

The weather has been pretty cool and rainy recently and I’ve been on a tea kick. Chai tea. 

The entire first year we have lived here in Chile I was never able to find chai at the stores (sad face). I know it can be made at home but I’m the only one in my family who likes to drink it and I hate making things specifically for me so I’ve just never gotten around to it. That’s why I was so excited the other day when my Mom found some. I’ve been drinking it on chilly mornings and enjoying every sip. 

 So I think it’s obvious where the inspiration for these doughnuts came from.  I know I just said that no one in my house likes chai but what I should have said was that no one like chai tea. Now chai doughnuts are a totally different matter. I mean, come on, doughnuts!Enough said. 

The kids thought they tasted like pumpkin spice, which they are very similar. I used chai spices and black tea rather than using actual chai because I’m rationing my chai. That’s the thing about finding a new product here in Chile. You may never see it again so don’t get too attached. 

Anyway, these doughnuts are so good! Even if you aren’t a huge fan of chai I think you’d still like them because the flavors are more mild in doughnut form and when you top these with that sweet vanilla bean icing…….mmmmmmm! 

It’s Friday and Friday needs doughnuts. What do you say? I say let’s do it! 

Baked Chai Latte Doughnuts and Vanilla Bean Icing

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cook Time: 20 minutes

Total Time: 35 minutes

Yield: 16 doughnuts

Ingredients

Chai Doughnuts:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 stick butter, melted
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon each of: cloves, ginger, and cardamom
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup boiling water + 1 black tea bag (reserve 1/4 cup for icing)
  • 2 1/2 cups flour

Vanilla Bean Icing:

  • 1/4 reserved black tea
  • 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • scrapings from 2 vanilla beans (or 1 teaspoon extract)
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter

Instructions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C) and grease 1 or 2 non-stick doughnut pans with oil.
  2. In a large mixing bowl whisk together butter and sugar. Whisk in eggs, 1/2 cup black tea, and milk. Add all other ingredients for doughnuts and stir until well mixed.
  3. Spoon batter into doughnut pan and fill each doughnut to the line. Bake for 15 - 18 minutes until golden brown. Remove from oven and cool completely.
  4. Stir together ingredients for icing and spread desired amount on doughnuts. Allow icing to dry before serving.

And just for fun, another pic of our two puppies:  (this photo was taken with a Samsung Galaxy Grand phone by my sister, Lela. She has a great eye, she needs a real camera.)

Yesterday, I made note of Venezuela.  Later today, I'll be talking with one of my friends, he is actually a friend and my Spanish teacher.  In a later post, I'll talk about learning Spanish.  Also, I'll post an update on yesterday's events in Venezuela.  

Que tengas un buen dia!

One more photo, I can't help myself. Can you have too many photos in a post? Really?! I'd really like to hear your opinion.  This is of my backyard.  In a later post, I'll give more detail.  Enjoy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62258.82
ETH 2427.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58