Cooking diary #6: Masala chai recipe (A perfect cup of warmth for a chilly day)

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Be careful what you wish for...

When I was growing up, I used to love watching the cycle of all four seasons. Spring - when all nature is waking up from the deep slumber, summer with hot sun and blooming beauty everywhere, colorful autumn and gorgeous white winter. Due to that, it was pretty upsetting that this year winter came, but snow - never did. Until the last Monday! I could not believe my eyes when I woke up, looked through the window and - everything around was covered with the thick layer of snow! I guess I kept complaining so much that my wish finally came true!? Sadly it did not last long. All snow is gone now but a chilly weather was left behind. I guess we have to be more specific when we wish for something since it always backfires... Oh well.. because of this cold I had not only get my winter clothes back from the furthest corner of the wardrobe but remember a few winter'ish recipes as well to keep me properly warm.

So, this time I would like to share with you a simple recipe for the original Indian Chai tea. I was taught to brew it by my dear friend about ten years ago. It does not have to be brewed specifically during the cold season, but due to the lovely aroma of the spices and softness of taste, I find it to be a perfect beverage to comfort me during the chilly weather.

20180208_135149.jpg

Ingredients

1 cinnamon stick (broken into pieces)
2 cardamom pods
4 cloves
a couple thin slices of fresh ginger
a pinch of ground black pepper
2 tablespoons of granulated brown sugar
2 tablespoons of black tea (can be decaf as well)
3 cups of water
1/2 cup of milk

20180208_130548.jpg

Process

  1. Crush or grind well the cloves and cardamon pods.
  2. Brake into pieces cinnamon stick.
  3. Add the crushed spices plus cinnamon, ginger slices, and pepper in a medium saucepan.
  4. Add water and bring everything to boil.
  5. Remove the saucepan from the heat, cover and let it rest for about 5 minutes.
  6. Add milk and sugar to the saucepan and while constantly stirring bring it near to boiling again.
  7. Once it is about to boil - remove saucepan from the heat - add the tea and still well.
  8. Cover the saucepan and let it rest for couple more minutes.
  9. Stir the Chai before pouring into the tea cups.

20180208_134035.jpg

As simple as that. Keep warm my friends!

Much love <3
@gretum

Sort:  

Thanks for the recipe! I'll surely be trying this soon on a cold winter's day.

Let me know how you'll like it :)

Yum that looks amazing

Taste lovely too :)

This post make me smile during reading it. Every word make me imagine of you waking up, see the snow, enjoy your cold day, etc. (wish to be near to you my dear) :D

Finally , thank you about the recipe ... I think I will try to make it coz most ingredients are available :D

Miss you
Hug hug :D
T.J.

Thank you hun, I am glad that you enjoyed it :)
<3

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gretum from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you for sharing. Will definitely have a try:)

Welcome, please give it a try :) It is really good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67467.65
ETH 3470.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71