Fermentation starter bread (gluten-free)

in #food6 years ago

Ingredients:

fermentation starter

All-purpose gluten-free flour mix

oil

salt

Process:

I pulled the starter out of the fridge and fed it after I woke up. Before I went to bed I mixed 1 cup starter with 1 cup homemade gluten free flour mix, small bit of grapeseed oil, and about a teaspoon of salt. The next morning I mixed the starter mix with one cup GF flour mix. I covered the bowl with a damp towel and put it on top of the fridge for a couple of flours. I heated up a dutch oven in a 450ºF oven for about an hour. I gently grabbed the dough, floured the bottom and put it in the dutch oven along with a small container of water for 30 minutes. I then removed the lid and cooked it for about 20 more minutes. It turned out great! It was very much like store bought white bread. The dough was even making kind of fizzing noises before I put it in the oven! It also toasted beautifully! I'm going to do some more experiments, but so far, so good!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! I love how you told the process of making the dough - you don't have to look at the clock and the temperature all the time :) If you want to post more about baking bread - there is a tag for that: #breadbakers (though perhaps a photo would make a post perfect).

Thank you! Next time I get a starter going and start making breads again I will try to remember to try and take good pictures.

Hello, @muscara found you already with the tag. I would only recommend not putting three posts on the same day as people might not want to upvote all three then.
I sometimes bake something gluten free, at least for others. I use yeast water then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43