Rock Me Burger (Chiang Mai restaurant): I can't believe it isn't more expensive

in #food5 years ago

I had avoided going into this place for quite some time because the facade gives the impression that it is going to break the bank. Not only was it not a rip off, but it was just incredible in taste an portion size. This is now one of my favorite places in the city.

chiang-mai-rock-me-burger-bar-15994.jpg
source

This is yet another restaurant located very near the tourist central part of town and that is the main reason why I didn't go into it until now. Normally, any good-looking restaurant in this area is overpriced and quite crap. I went because a friend wanted to meet there and I went to an ATM before arriving because I was concerned. My mood changed as soon as I saw the menu.

Rock-Me-Menu-1-min.jpg

Although I didn't think to take a picture of the menu, it was likely one of the most creative and helpful menus I have seen anywhere in this country. The descriptions were concise and in nearly every instance there was a photo of the dish right next to it. I went with the Rock Me Original, because it was the most popular and there has to be a reason for that.

60920207_298805587661804_99708718043627520_n.jpg

For the same price as a value meal at a chain like Burger King (I think it might even be less) you get a faaaaar superior burger served in style and the price of it was just over $5. This is a tremendous value. The beers were the same price you would pay at a dive bar as well.

The kitchen is located outside, right in front of the establishment and I always appreciate this. People worry about cleanliness of the kitchen in Thailand because as a former restaurant owner, I can attest to the fact that there are no regulations whatsoever for cleanliness or food quality standards.

60857609_661650044272564_921032114307072000_n.jpg
there the chef is, closely adhering to the 5-second rule

This is why you need to have friends. I likely would have never went in this place because it looked too fancy for my frugal butt but little did I know it is actually one of the best burger values in the entire city. If you don't like burgers (and that makes you a weirdo unless it is for religious reasons) there are plenty of other options on the menu and I fully intend to sample quite a few more.

35328833_1286573918146182_9087235055473917952_n.jpg
source

Location including GPS coords
โรงแรมเรือนระมิงค์ 17-19 ถนน ลอยเคราะห์ ตำบล ช้างคลาน อำเภอเมืองเชียงใหม่ เชียงใหม่ 50100

Sort:  

It looks great! I don't doubt its delicious.

That looks pretty fantastic for the price! I probably would have went with the original burger the first time too. I did that when I went to Wahlburgers for the first time. I figured I should stick with the original. The pork burger looks pretty interesting too though. That would probably be my second choice. I look forward to seeing future posts about your visits here!

I would like one day to try burgers or fries or something else cooked outside my country. People put so much effort in their food regardless of what they are cooking :)

Food is a tradition of a place. Look at how beautiful that last photo is! :D

@gooddream You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43