Mellowship - Chiang Mai (bar / restaurant): nice ambiance...rubbish food

in #food5 years ago

The Mellowship is an iconic example as to why a larger city in Thailand can cater to more sophisticated tastes. It is primarily a jazz club and upmarket cocktail bar. It has the look of being a fancy place and it definitely is that. However, having such garbage food is unacceptable especially when it is relatively expensive.


source

I am not really a fan of jazz music, but can appreciate a good musician no matter what style of music they are playing so in that regard I am happy this place exists, i will just go there in the future without needing anything to eat. The food menu is actually quite impressive but I am one of those people that absolutely HATES it when the pictures on the menu don't actually represent what you receive at all.


source

This is an example of their advertising materials for what they have on offer but what you receive doesn't actually look at all like this.

The service started off badly because they were out of so many things on the menu despite the fact that it was a Tuesday and the place was not even busy. As a former restaurant owner I find this totally unfathomable. The only time my restaurant was out of something was if we sold all of it during that night's service. If you are out of something on the menu for any other reason, said item should not be on the menu. To do it any other way shows that whoever the manager is, doesn't really care about the food and this much was evident in what we received.

I didn't take any pictures because it is a dimly lit place and I didn't want to be that guy that is using flash photography in a dark room that had people on stage. You'll just have to take my word for it.

The fish was fried so hard that it was dry and they used so much batter that it dominated the entire flavor to the point where it really just tasted like deep-fried batter. The chicken and spinach roll was also dry and overcooked and for some reason had raisins and cashew nuts strewn about the plate (I always hate this because it means that someone had their hands all over something I am about to put in my mouth.)

Neither of our dishes looked anything like the pictures in the very attractive menu.


source

This is one of the more upscale places in town and it attracts an affluent mix of locals, expats, and tourists. The vibe is friendly and the service is quick and speak English very well. They definitely need a new chef or perhaps a complete overhaul to the kitchen in general.

Since I am not a big fan of jazz music (unless Ron Burgandy is playing jazz flute) and don't like to spend high levels of money on food I didn't enjoy or finish, I am very unlikely to return to this place. However, the music was top-notch and it kind of surprised me that they had music of this caliber in Chiang Mai. If you are visiting this city and are a jazz fan, I would say you would likely enjoy this place.... just stay away from the food.

location including GPS coords
231/12 1004 ตำบล ช้างเผือก อำเภอเมืองเชียงใหม่ เชียงใหม่ 50200

Sort:  

I had no idea you had your own restaurant. It makes sense to me as you look at things differently. My dad was a chef and restaurant owner and I look at everything as well. I do a thorough survey before I order anything if the place is somewhere I haven't eaten before. I am fussy, but I see it as just having standards that I expect.

my restaurant was not expensive and I didn't focus on making the decorum super nice because I have no sense of interior design. We did make it moder-ish and had loads of TV's though. Chair were comfortable. I am more a "function over fashion" type dude when it comes to clothes also. Anyway, our food was awesome and our portions big, we quickly rose to become one of the most popular restaurants in the city despite the fact that I don't even know how to cook most of what was on our menu. :) It was fun for about 6 years but then I got sick of it.

My dad was a chef and there was no family life because of the hours involved. I would not recommend the industry to anyone unless they had a passion and a strong team behind them.

I am a pretty big fan of jazz music, but that would be pretty disappointing if the food is that bad. Sounds like it might just be a good place to grab a couple of drinks and listen to the music. That's too bad it didn't really live up to the hype!

With the hunger that we have here in Venezuela and sending that pure, hahaha is a terrible friend when you go to a contest like the one of the other time you rewarded publications? I would be interested in you to do one and participate in that occasion that really helped me a lot, I love the immaculateness of your blogger, I hope I could do what you do every day, I would be very happy. Sometimes I do not do anything ... Greetings and my respect those fish look delicious.

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60133.79
ETH 2686.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49