Horse Piss Eggs (ไข่เยี่ยวม้า) - yes, that is a real thing

in #food6 years ago

As I tend to brag about on a regular basis, I can read Thai. Therefore, when i see something strange I usually will have the reaction of "there is no way that is a real thing!" but in this particular instance, yes; yes it is a real thing. It is pronounced "Kai EE-oh maa" which literally translates to horse pee (piss) eggs.

photo-roulette-Horse-Pee-Eggs-Thailand-Melissa-To-and-Fro-1.jpg
source

There are rumors about the eggs (normally chicken or duck eggs but other eggs can be used also) being preserved in urine thankfully is not true. The reason why they are called this is because of the preservation process, they have a strong smell of sulfur and ammonia and well, they look pretty awful. They can be made to be less black but if you want them in their true, nauseating glory, eat the black ones.

DSCN4755-min.jpg
source

This is originally a Chinese creation, who refer to them as "century eggs" and I have no idea why the Thais don't continue to use that name. They kind of do their own thing over here. Also these eggs are not a hundred years old (they may have been at one time - i dunno) but the actual process takes a few months. The process can be sped up (apparently, i read this online) by adding lead oxide to the mix. As with most things, the word "lead" normally means dangerous and in this particular scenario it can be poisonous.

These eggs are a delicacy in China and while it is less popular in Thailand there is plenty of these eggs on offer. I find it a bit difficult to get past the smell and this is the same problem I have with Durian.

The preservation process involves exactly zero pee. Instead wood, salt, ash, tea, lime, and clay are used. I can't even imagine who came up with this idea. It just goes to show that people will do just about anything.


source

I tried one, and maybe I am doing it wrong but I won't likely try another one. I was delighted to find out that there isn't any sort of horse piss involved in the process, but for me this is just a very strange food item that I am happy I tried it, but am very unlikely to consume again.

Sort:  

The weird and wonderful, but at least you had the guts to try it. I honestly don't know if I would. Maybe a nibble just to get a taste. The name comes from the smell obviously and a direct translation.

As they say out there, "curiosity killed the cat." Honestly when I read the truth at first I thought it was a super strange and disgusting idea, thank goodness it's only a name. As far as the visuals are concerned they don't look very appetizing, but if you put one on the table I'd try it without hesitation!

That's the adventurous spirit i am looking for !

Wow... firstly, I agree that they should have stuck with the Chinese name, century egg haha! Secondly, fair play for trying these! I don't think I would bring myself to it... However I do try most things. But if they smell awful... and that black yolk? eww...

I'm the same with Durian, I can't stand the smell. I purchased some before, and tried a few pieces, then leaving it in my fridge overnight I awoke to an unholy smell in my apartment! Not again!

omg i can't believe you put durian in your fridge overnight. I bet it has permanently changed the chemical makeup of the interior.

Haha! It was quite some task to try and get rid of that smell.... I still can't believe how strong it was! Never again

These are very delicious as fried eggs!

Posted using Partiko iOS

you are Thai correct? I guess you would know better than me!

I never liked these eggs as a kid as they were always very smelly. But if you know how to cook these eggs, they could turn out very delicious. Some like to ‘yum’ : our chili, sliced onions, spring onions and lots of lemon juice! So many menus for these smelly eggs!

Posted using Partiko iOS

well there you go folks! a real expert has spoken. :)

Hahaha! I am far from an expert! I just like good food and I am a bad cook, either get food burnt or over cooked! But I can tell when the food tastes really good as I am a greedy person! Haha!
Must get on with my delayed exercises soon!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Disgusting... Thx for sharing. haha

There is literally no way i would put that anywhere close to my mouth.

well there is plenty of other weird stuff here. Ever seen the fried bug stands?

pretty weird but awesome!! I love any dishes off eggs and I'm hoping to see this one.and I would like to recommend to you guys the balut which is a street food here in the Philippines!

Oh i have never heard about this eggs with color stranger it looks tasty thanks for this informations

It looks similar to the one they called "Century Egg" that you can found in China. I tried one and for me it taste's good. Ever tried balut before?

First i was surprised to see such kind of egg exists and sure that i would try not to go beside it as they have strong smell of sulfur and ammonia

So it's pink outside black inside? And the flesh part is a bit transparent? Cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47