Healthy Tacos from a Girl Who Loves Taco Bell

in #food7 years ago

Ahh.. Glorious, tasty, filling Buddha bowls. If you are unfamiliar with this foodie trend, give a quick search to google or pinterest, and you'll be drooling in no time!

I take my health pretty seriously for a college student. I eat salads, drink a lot (of water lol), and work out at the gym about 5 times a week. I prefer to lift weights, as running on a treadmill as never really been my thing. Anyways, I'd definitely LOVE to look like one of those Instagram fitness models, but I have one problem...I love tacos too much!

Which brings me to the perfect solution: Taco Buddha Bowls! Yes friends, I know. I love that crunchy shell or those salty chips as much as you do, but trust me on this. By making a simple replacement with some quinoa, you can really transform your tacos. And somehow, I didn't even need to add cheese!

You will need:
Quinoa
Taco Meat
Homemade Salsa (see below)
Additional toppings: Avocado, corn, beans, sour cream, lettuce, peppers, cheese, etc.

Homemade Salsa: Finely chop up several roma tomatoes. I like about 50-60% of my salsa to be tomato. The remaining "bulk" of your salsa will be made up of finely chopped green pepper and onion. From there, squeeze in the juice of 1 or 2 limes. Finely chop approximately 3 slices of jalapeno pepper, seeds and all! Then, chop and add some cilantro. A dash a salt, a dash of pepper, and a little shake of cumin or chili powder later, and you have salsa!

Prepare your salsa ahead of time so the flavors can blend in the fridge. Prepare the quinoa and the taco meat, and any additional toppings you like!

To serve, put quinoa in a bowl, and arrange your toppings cutely on top. Cuteness is key! This recipe is so healthy because you can go light on the quinoa and meat and reallllyyyyy stack those veggies on! The result is a delicious taco buddha bowl! Perfect for meal prepping, or creating a taco bar for friendly get-togethers.

You'll see I don't have any "exact" measurements on this recipe, and that's cause you don't need em! The ratios are truly up to you, and this meal is completely customizable!

Enjoy your guilt-free tacos!

Sort:  

I love taco and am trying to eat healthier so thank you for this. I've been on a kick with bowls lately as well. Not just smoking bowls but also making them haha. So I basically do variations of like a Bim Bap bowl. Typically some brown rice, a grilled chicken breast over the top of each along with some veggies and maybe bean sprouts and some chili sauce over the top. Pretty tasty, pretty easy, pretty healthy.

Yummmm! I like making bowls with chicken and drizzling Thai Peanut Sauce over the top. Just enough spice!

Congratulations @goldengatebridge! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @goldengatebridge! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59446.26
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41