Loaded Porridge Breakfast Bowl

in #food7 years ago

Anyone else out there love a beautifully loaded porridge bowl?

unnamed.jpg

It’s one of my favourite breakfast options- and when I say loaded, I mean loaded. With all the healthy goods, of course. Boosting up the flavour and textures to create what can only be described as a warm hug for your insides.

I’ve been loading my porridge bowls for quite a bit, but my recent visit to Copenhagen’s Grød filled me with such a renewed enthusiasm toward these little porridge creations that I felt the need to shout my joy from the rooftops. Considering the danger of shouting from rooftops (and not knowing how to climb onto mine), I then opted for sharing this jazzed up porridge here.

unnamed-1.jpg

The thing about porridge is that it only takes minutes to create. And, isn’t that what so many of us need in the morning? A breakfast that’s healthy, quick, and tasty? I’m going to estimate that mine take about 3 minutes to assemble. And as far as toppings- anything goes!

Consider fresh fruit, nuts, seeds, nut butters, unsweetened coconut flakes, cacao nibs… the possibilities are truly endless.

unnamed-5.jpg

Next time you venture to the grocery shop, you may feel inclined to pick up a few ingredients for your own homemade loaded porridge. Here are a few ideas to get you started.

fresh fruit: berries (fresh or frozen), apple, chopped kiwi, half a sliced banana

creamy add-ins: a dollop of plain greek or coconut yoghurt, almond butter, or [dare I say… if you’re having a bit of a sweet craving] just a wee teaspoon of Justin's chocolate hazelnut butter

crunch + texture: chopped nuts, goji berries, unsweetened coconut flakes, chia seeds, pumpkin seeds, hemp hearts, cacao nibs, granola, milled linseed, raisins

just a bit: a dash of cinnamon, a droplet of vanilla extract, or a spoonful of unsweetened applesauce

Hope you enjoyed this post and feel inspired to spice up your next (or first) porridge bowl!

Sort:  

With this power breakfast you could last until the next morning!

Haha. You would think so, right?!

Its about 5am in the U.S in the midwest and I think you gave me a great idea of whats for breakfast . thanks for the mouth watering share.

You're welcome! I'm originally from the midwest (Chicago). Enjoy your breakfast this morning!

Chicago is my second home! thats awesome.

HI
PLEASE UPVOTE MY POST
THANK YOU

Looks so tasty and healthy

Thank you! I pretty much do the same thing with with plain Greek yoghurt. Give it a try! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58334.82
ETH 2595.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40