Is Gluten Hiding in There?

in #food7 years ago

After starting my gluten free journey, identifying this inflammatory ingredient was sometimes downright obvious but at other times it was tricky. I realized that gluten was hiding in the weirdest places that I would have least expected. I have compiled a short list to give the heads up to all of you that are just starting on this journey. It will save you a few belly aches and I am happy to pass along the information. Baby is in bed and I have a few extra moments to spare!
Alert! this is not a complete list and only contains the mistakes I have personally made. There are many other gluten laden foods out there. Also note that there are alternative products of these exact foods that ARE gluten free so just be sure to seek out those alternatives before you cut all the fun out of your life.

Soy Sauce - literally made with wheat. There is a really good brand that makes gluten free soy sauce that I will do an article about later.

Gummy Bears - seriously! the gummy is held together with wheat starch

Licorice - same as gummy bears - even the fruity one has a wheat starch binder

Sauces and Gravies - usually thickened with a flour base

Puddings and Pie Fillings - again, thickened with flour base

Oats (if not certified gluten free) - could be processed in a facility that processes gluten products and some oatmeal is actually frosted with flour

Anything MALT or Maltodextrin ingredient - includes malted milkshakes

Beer and some other alcohols - fermented grains

Rye - naturally occurring

Barley - naturally occurring

Caramel Colouring - depending on how it’s made - sometimes made with wheat

French Fries - some restaurants opt to batter their fries with a flour batter to make them crispier and tastier… also other fried foods should be banned from your mouth

I hope this little list was helpful and if you have any foods to add to the list - please comment. Follow me for more tips, tricks, and recipes for gluten free living. AND enjoy my random double rainbow xoxo

IMG_0026.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51