American version of Japanese food

in #food6 years ago

I went to a Japanese market named Marukai which is a chain here in California. Most of the stores are in the Los Angeles area, but a few have popped up in Northern California over the years.

Most of the products in the store are from Japan and there is a handful of products from Hawaii. (There are a lot of asians in Hawaii!) The store is usually busy as the next closest Japanese specific market is Mitsuwa, about 6 miles away.

So I picked up what is called a 'futomaki' which is seaweed, sushi rice, cucumber, egg, marinated shitaki mushroom and a vegetable named kampyo. Some pickled ginger is on the side to clean your palette between different types of sushi rolls/nigiri.
futomaki.jpg

I also got this for the main lunch, a chirashi bowl which is a variety of seafood and vegetables over rice. I would give this a 6 out of 10 as it is in a cooled area which makes the rice cold. The best chirashi bowls are right from a sushi chef at the resturant.
chirashi.jpg

The California roll was started in the United States as a way of eating 'sushi', but nothing in it is raw. It typically has crab, cucumber and avocado.
califroll.jpg

I picked up some rice mix which is an easy way to start off a chirashi bowl. After mixing the contents of the package, all you need to add is seafood like shrimps or crab, unagi (eel)...
ricemix.jpg

I also got some HOT curry sauce which I will be trying this week. I have never tried this one, so I'm curious on how hot it is.... Next to that is some manju which is a smashed rice exterior and sweetened red bean on the inside. Delicious for dessert.
curry.jpg

So how is the food? In general, I'd say between a 6-7 out of 10. There are a few really good Sushi bars in the bay area which may be close to some that are in Japan. I will let you know as I will be in Osaka and Tokyo in late October to early November. (First time)

Sort:  

Hi,

You are making me hungry. Try the Korean style sushi called "Kim Bop" if you have a chance. You can buy at Korean food market or restaurant.

There is a koreatown close to work which has a few markets, I'll look for it.

@glennolua The dishes you chose look very delicious... I hope you liked them very much... The presence is very good... The rollers look good... The water was very good... The varied seafood dish also looks great... Enjoy it... Thank you for sharing your delicious food with us... Thank you for sharing it with us!

One thing I forgot to mention is that the food is very colorful! It was a good lunch that I do not eat too often.

@glennolua I'm glad you enjoyed it... I'm happy to learn about other typical foods from other countries through your post... Thank you

Futomaki and Chirashi bowl look same selling in Japan.

During staying in Japan, I recommend you to visit Department stores.

Almost all Department stores have food stores in the basement floor.

You can see So many kinds of Japanese food at the same time and also try tasting at several shops.

Enjoy!!

Thanks for the info, I will be checking out the department stores for sure. I'll be in Osaka, Hiroshima and Tokyo.

Loading...

Feeling like preparing sushi today..
Love you market adventure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57249.56
ETH 2352.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38