Sunday Special: I Bring You Pancakes! 🥞 Super Clean, Packed with Protein

in #food6 years ago (edited)

almond-flour-pancakes-girlinchief-2.jpg

Happy Sunday Friends!

Today I'm sharing with you my favorite Sunday special recipe - Almond Flour Pancakes 🥞😍

I love weekend brunches, but somehow I don't quite like the idea of long waiting times for mediocre, overpriced food. Plus, I'm not a huge fan of IHOP that everybody else in the US seems to love so much (there, I said it! Don't hate me pls!). Also, store-bought, ready-to-cook mixes and I don't go together. So, what's a brunch-loving girl got to do? Well, make her own of course! After years of experimenting in the kitchen, I can proudly say that I've become quite an excellent egg scrambler, hashbrown maker and pancake flipper. 👩‍🍳

For me, Sunday mornings are synonymous to a big, fluffy stack of pancakes. Add to it some real maple syrup and a frothy mug of coffee, and I know my Sunday is already fabulous! Pancake Sundays are also a favorite food tradition of my little family.

almond-flour-pancakes-girlinchief-2.JPG

Like everybody else, I used to makes pancakes with all-purpose flour. But then I got a little wiser and conscious about what I feed my body, and started looking for substitutes. And almond flour pancakes have become the love of my life! They are super clean (no carb, gluten free, dairy-free) and packed with protein. The best part is they make you feel pleasantly full because they are made of healthy fats.

P9172626.JPG

almond-flour-pancakes-girlinchief-2.JPG

Some Notes About the Recipe

  • Since we are using almond flour, these pancakes will have a slightly nutty flavor and texture. In the recipe below I've mentioned that you can add a couple of tablespoons of tapioca flour if you'd prefer. It's not absolutely necessary to add tapioca flour but it does help in binding the pancakes. It will also make them lighter and fluffier. Plus, it'll be easy to flip the pancakes without breaking them. The good part is that tapioca flour is considered paleo friendly, so if you're following a paleo, or grain-free diet, it won't be an issue.
  • If you find that your pancake batter is watery, you can add some more almond flour. The consistency of the batter will depend on the grind of the flour.
  • You can serve your pancakes the way you like - with honey, butter, fruit syrup, jam etc. I like mine with real maple syrup and fresh fruit.
  • I don't add sugar in the batter because I like to keep them sugar-free. Plus, if you're topping your pancakes with honey or maple syrup, you won't actually need added sugar. Totally guilt-free!

Almond Flour Pancakes.png

Here's the recipe I created on a recipe builder:

Capture.JPG
Capture2.JPG

There you go! It's a simple recipe with delicious results. So, what's stopping you from whipping up some magic in your kitchen? Go ahead and try this recipe and don't forget to let me know how your pancakes turned out. You can share a picture too! I'd love too see!

If you like this post, please show some love! I regularly post about my travel adventures across the world. So if you're looking for some travel inspiration, follow along!

Upvote . Comment . Resteem . Follow

steemit banner-girlinchief.png

Sort:  

Congratulations!

This food post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Tasty Tuesday competition! Please follow this link and comment with your food picture to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Woohoo! Thank you so much!

Thank you for sharing the recipe. Almond flour is a great substitute!

You're welcome! Yes, ever since I've started using almond flour, I haven't gone back to all-purpose flour, especially for pancakes. Thanks for stopping by! :)

Yes! Although not 100% Paleo I’m always trying to eat low on carbs. I’ll try these out for sure! Yum!

Great! Let me know how they turn out. :)

The presentation, the photography, the pancakes, everything looks delicious! Now I need to eat lol

Thank you so much! :)

great post. really nice thnks

Thank you so much!

mm it seems pretty delicious! I'm going to try to make them. it is going to be my first time :D

They are super delicious and nutritious! If you do try them, let me know how they turn out. :)

Pancakes! Now I want to have some in tomorrow's breakfast. Thanks for posting.

Hahaha...I know right?! I want to have pancakes everyday! The best part is that these are actually healthy so there's no guilt. Thanks for stopping by! :)

:D followed you now.. hope to see more great posts in the future

Following you as well! :)

hmmm, your pancakes look very yummy, Thanks for sharing a recipe.

Thank you so much!

welcome dear

Your pics are beautiful.Your pancakes look really nice and delicious,the fresh fruit on top and the syrup on top,now that's mouthwatering.I also love pancakes.

Thank you so much @carkia I'm happy I could tempt your taste buds! :) Who doesn't love pancakes?!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60752.39
ETH 2904.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73