Making some BBQ rub

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I was thinking about making some ribs or chicken on the BGE today, but noticed that I was out of BBQ rub.

I usually make a batch, then store it in the spice rack until I need it. Since I was out, it was time to make some more.

It is super easy if you have the spices

I checked my spice rack and I was in luck.

CA07C474-E8BB-48D9-B0EF-119F3855D4F4.jpeg

My recipe is based off a recipe given to me by my brother-in-law who, I believe, based it off of the recipe from the Big Green Egg website.

I separated the spices into two piles. Those that are whole and need to be crushed, and those that don’t.

I crushed the salt, pepper and clove together, then added it to the paprika, garlic powder, cayenne, celery seed, cayenne and brown sugar.

C9CC4688-AEE7-4E49-9771-6DB8FF15F63C.jpeg

Last, I put it in a container to store until I need it.
Rusty Rub.JPG

It is a very generic recipe that can be used on anything where you want a slightly sweet, BBQ flavour.

Time to cook

(This is my first post using my iPhone)

Sort:  

Definitely!! It's great on chicken wings too!

Congratulations @gikitiki! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81