You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SNAP Food Stamp Challenge – Week 1 – Day 3

in #food7 years ago

That's an interesting option, I will have to see if the 99 Cents Only store has any tofu. I actually increased the difficulty of the $29/week food stamp challenge by only being able to shop at this discount dollar store. I did this to simulate being in a 'food desert' with limited options.

I will certainly be on the lookout for it though! Thanks. :)

Sort:  

No problem. You can also do a fried tofu and have a soy sauce/rice vinegar dipping sauce as well. Just because it's cheap doesn't mean it has to suck.

It certainly doesn't! (especially after I figure out this hard bean problem) :D

Food deserts have little grocery stores and liquor stores and all other places you can get food. Hunting for healthy food used to be my life in the states. I was always in the hood when I was on stamps and there is more variety at good prices than you can imagine. People only think it's a desert because there are no chain stores.

I use to get imported feta for 2.50 a pound in a middle eastern falafel place. They just sold the cheese separate and I sure miss it now. That would last about 2 weeks and add a lot of flavor. Sheep's milk feta from Bulgaria. I want some now.

If you have an IGA - great prices for cheap food, especially produce. I get staying on your course though.

Post an inventory of what you have left over before you shop again. This is very interesting.