You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Persimmon - Fruit of the Gods - A Common Yet Often Neglected Fruit - Guest Appearance From @papa-pepper

in #food8 years ago

I must say that when the tree has outlived its usefulness the wood is very hard and wear resistant, part of the ebony wood family. Its also relatively elastic, back in the day of wood golf clubs the persimmon wood was often used. Today people like to use it for furniture and other places were its toughness is useful.

Look @anotherjoe, I took the long way 'round but I am now 63 like you! :D

Sort:  

Very cool. I saw some notes about the wood. I know the lotus is very desirable.
Congrats on 63!! I have about 0.2 to go to reach 64. It's getting slower.... :)

Back in the day, when I was taking forestry classes in college, they really stressed the value of persimmon for the heads of golf club drivers. Big trees were worth a lot and a perceptive person could make some good money by spotting the trees and talking with a landowner - selective harvest in action. Now, they aren't used so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65