The Won Tons

in #food6 years ago

A Family Food Legend And A Recipe Deciphering Attempt


IMG_0771.JPG


If there is one food item that our family is known for, it is my husband's won tons. It is my firm opinion that the little deep fried packets of flavor spectacularness are the sole reason we are repeat invited to various social functions. The high esteem that the folded dough tid bits are held in by those that partake of them is legendary.

IMG_0774.JPG

My husband's won tons are a version of the cream cheese filled, crab rangoon type of won tons, but they have the addictive qualities of a a bucketful of opiates. I have yet to meet one human that can stop eating them after just one, and we have had to, over the years, increase the size of our recipe in quantity produced as in all reality 25 of the won tons wouldn't be enough for just one person.

IMG_0765.JPG


IMG_0762.JPG

As I made the decision to share this sublime snack food recipe with you all a problem faced me. My husband doesn't use a recipe per say for his Asian appetizer construction. Nay, I tell you, he just starts mixing ingredients in a bowl. The little cream cheese containing treasures turn out magnificent every time. Well, except that time our daughter double wrapped every won ton. Talk about a double dough-light in a non appetizing way!

IMG_0763.JPG


IMG_0767.JPG

It was with that no measurement conundrum facing me that I took some time to really observe the won ton maestro in action as he constructed a double batch of his crunchy little nibbles yesterday for a dinner that we were cooking our friends. It is with much arduous labor and more than a bit of sacrifical taste testing that I present you all with my findings, the Legendary Mr. T's Won Ton Recipe, a Kat kitchen Holy Grail of sorts!

The Won Tons

4 ounces cream cheese, softened
1 can of crab drained
3-5 scallions chopped
1 clove of crushed garlic
1 teaspoon Chinese five spice powder
1 Tablespoon soy sauce
salt and pepper to taste
1 packet of won ton wrappers

Mix all ingredients together well in a small bowl.

Grab a small cup of lukewarm water, open the packet of won ton wrappers, and begin assembling your little won ton beauties. Don't over load the wrapper, and after putting a small amount of the filling onto the wrapper, dip your finger into the cup of water and dab a bit of H20 onto each corner of the won ton wrapper. Fold it into a pretty little packet.

Deep fry each won ton until golden brown in hot oil, around 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

Place each fried won ton onto a bed of paper towels to drain and then place out for people whom you are fond of to devour.


IMG_0776.JPG

A couple of caveats: If you do get a little too generous in your won ton wrapper stuffage, the filling will overflow out of the little packet into the hot deep frying oil and spit and sputter like an offended spinster spying something uncouth. Regarding the art of won ton folding, my husband is a master at making beautiful little won tons, mine resemble my ability to fold a fitted sheet. Don't get too disheartened if the little bits of fried dough don't look restaurant worthy, they will still taste amazing!!


And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's won tons that are long gone capturing iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?


Click Here!

Sort:  

I HAVE TO HAVE THESE ASAP

I'll trade a chicken and one child for a plate.

Deal?

HA HA! Like I would consider a deal that blesses me with more work!!!

However, In the vein of neighborly friendship and stuff, we will totally make you some. Cause niceness.

Hello @generikat - thank you for sharing your family recipe! What a wonderful idea for tonight!

Thank you @freedom2grow! It's so nice to have some simple, tasty recipes lying around:o) I totally followed you btw, looking forward to perusing your excellent blog!

Hope you are having a lovely evening!!!

Hello again my friend :-) Thank you for the kind words .... have a great day!

I would like to be one of those humans that consumes more than just one. Great job by you and your husband. Enjoy @generikat! :D

Ah @bitdollar, I would totally make you a double batch, lol!! Thank you!!

Yay!!!! I hope that you would! :)

This is nice and it looks crunchy. Would try it out before the weekend. Thanks for sharing

The won tons really are a nice combination of crunchy exterior and creamy interior filling, hope they turn out perfectly for you!!

those won tons look really great, I like this recipe , and my mom is like your husband she is culinary master, she never follows a recipe it is frustrating trying to get the right amount of ingredients and their measurement when you are doing any of her food creations

Thank you! I just hope I captured the ingredient quantities right, he just throws the stuff and mixes away, lol! Sounds like you totally get it, keep fighting the good fight!!!

Looks delicious

Thank you!:o) They are!

Healthy food thanks for sharing it and its recipe i will try it
God bless you

Well, I don't know how healthy this particular recipe is, but it sure makes you happy when you eat them! LOL! Thank you so much!!

wow! your recipe food picture looking nice.

Awe, thank you for your kind words!

Wow, the food is very delicious, very suitable if we enjoy it with family and friends.

Thank you @marconah! I tend to enjoy food more when I am sharing it with family and friends too:o)

These look amazing!

Thank you! They do taste pretty amazing, hope you get to try them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78