The Brazilian Candy Demonstration!

in #food6 years ago

Brigadeiro Time!


IMG_9543.JPG


You all may or may not have noticed a slight absence of daily blog posts over the last couple of Earthly rotations. There was a very good reason for this slacker behavior, I had company visiting! Not just any company either, but family! One of my newest family members hails from the wonderful country of Brazil, and he is one of the most amazing, generous, and talented people that I have ever met! To say that I adore him is nowhere close to an appropriate expression of my esteem. My family spent the whole day cooking, eating, and laughing together, and then my future nephew told me that he was going to make me a very common Brazilian dessert.

IMG_9537.JPG

"What's it called?" I inquired, as I am all about all things dessert.

"Brigadeiro" he replied.

"Brig's got an arrow?" I giggled in my charming, non-clown like manner. (I'm afraid my Portuguese is beyond lacking.)

IMG_9534.JPG

My courteous relation sounded out the confection's moniker for me, properly enunciating the word so that I could even grasp it. Proper sounds and acceptable elocution achieved from yours truly, he began mixing the sweetened condensed milk, cocoa powder, and butter that I had rustled up for him in a pan over my stove.

About six hundred arm RPM's later, the mixture had achieved an almost caramel-like state. He stuck the Brigadeiro mass into my fridge to cool and told me cultural tales about the chocolate confection from his youth. Apparently it is very common to have Brigadeiro at children's birthday parties in Brazil. I had to ponder this revelation for a minute. Instead of dried out cupcakes slathered with dyed, sweetened vegetable lard, Brazilian children get truffle-like balls of chocolate rolled in more chocolate, or coconut, or almond! I seriously need to take a trip to Brazil! How awesome is that!!!

IMG_9541.JPG

After the candy had cooled enough to handle, my nephew began candy shape creation by coating his hands in butter and rolling the caramel-like substance into little balls. I had chopped up some milk chocolate and he rolled the little balls in the chocolate and then gave me one to test.

In the name of quality control and fair means testing, I ate more than a few of the Brigadeiro, You know, it was for the children.

IMG_9545.JPG

We talked about all of the different coatings that people rolled their Brigadeiro in, so before we were done, we had stuffed strawberries into the middle of some of the candy, rolled them in a mix of powdered sugar and coconut, and of course sampled a few of our creations.

Upon a cursory examination of my blog it might be apparent that I absolutely adore learning new things, and I have to tell you all that I LOVED learning about this candy from my new nephew! More than that, I loved that he shared a facet of himself with me through offering up a delectable piece of his culture right in my own kitchen. Spending time with family, both old and new is such a blessing, and I can't think of a much greater blessing than having one's teeth stuck together with chewy, chocolaty goodness.

IMG_9540 (1).JPG

So, curious Kat time! Have any of you ever made or ate Brigadeiro? What is your favorite coating? Do you have a favorite recipe? I absolutely loved this candy, so any discussion pertaining to it would rock! Like rock candy rock!


And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's non-candy coated and mostly sugar free iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

I should know better than to check my steemit feed before I go to bed. Now I want a snack. Tell your nephew obrigado from me.

You're welcome😉! Ha ha!

this candy is vary testy.....& i like it.....hmmmmma

Well, I sure hope you got some tasty candy, it sounded like you could use some! Thanks for stopping by:o)!

Wow thats interesting and yummy, thank you for sharing. I will try it out this weekend :)

Oh! I hope to get to see a post about your efforts!

Yes sure, when it come to chocolate I am always ready ;)

Now I need chocolate!! That looks absolutely delicious!!

And you shall have it great provider of the carrots! LOL! They are really wonderful, I will make you some, and I have a few variation ideas that I want to try, so stay tuned!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58