It's National Cheese Pizza Day!

in #food6 years ago

Alternate Title: I Made And Ingested Cheese (And Pepperoni) Pizza For Dinner


IMG_3519 (2).JPG

Today, as I went about my life ministrations of teaching narrative essays to my two homeschoolers and putting in a shift at the library, I was reminded no less than five times from various sources that it was National Cheese Pizza Day! Interestingly enough, my son, who came in the door after dark last night, sweaty and exhausted from a brutal couple of hours at football practice had requested that I make homemade pizza for dinner this night. I am a sucker for acquiescing to sweetly made requests from my baby gorilla, so I agreed to make pizza for tonight's dinner.

IMG_3511.JPG

Now, homemade pizza is probably our family's favorite meal. I mean, I have the dough recipe memorized. This morning while I waited for the kids to finish up their essays, I took some leftover tomato juice from Monday's canning expedition and whipped up some homemade pizza sauce. The smell of crushed garlic from this year's crop simmering in the sauce along with the lovely notes of oregano made me look forward the evening's noshing to come.

IMG_3512.JPG

After I arrived home from the library, I got out the dough makings and proceeded to whip up my pizza. It really takes no time at all to craft a quick dough, I didn't even let it rise or proof. Some days I do and others I don't. Tonight, I was rather tired, so I just mixed together my dough, gave a it a bit of a knead on my flour dusted counter top, and pressed it into the pans.

IMG_3514.JPG

At this point I have to admit that I used pepperoni on the largest pizza because I had promised my boy that we would have it for dinner, and yesterday I wasn't aware of today's cheese pizza calendar importance. However, the two smaller pizzas that I crafted were most definitely cheese in honor of today's apparent cheesiness.

IMG_3516 (2).JPG

I don't know about you all, but one of the best and most celebrated things about homemade pizza is eating it the next day for breakfast. I made a triple batch of dough so our pizza feasting will probably bleed over into lunch time too. Priorities.

Now I am going to go lay on my flintlocks and digest all of the delicious, doughy goodness that I have partaken in. It has definitely been a good night thus far.

And for anybody that is interested, here is my base dough recipe. I usually double or triple it to feed my family of pizza hounds:)!

Quick Pizza Dough

2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
2 Tablespoons Olive oil
1 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast (1 packet)
1 cup warm water (105-100 degrees Fahrenheit) I just use warm water out of my faucet

Place yeast in a bowl and add water, stir to dissolve. At this point you can stir in the sugar and let the mixture proof ten minutes until bubbly before proceeding, or not, it will work either way.

Add the rest of the ingredients and stir until the dough comes together. I use a nice wooden spoon for this part.

Place dough on a lightly floured surface and knead, adding flour when needed, until dough is no longer sticky and becomes a bit stretchy. At minimum I would say about five minutes of kneading, I usually go for ten, which is a nice little arm workout.

Form dough to pans and top with whatever sauce, cheese, and toppings you so desire! Then toss your resulting pie >into a hot oven, I bake my pizzas at 425F.


And as semi-frequently, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's flour dusted and still not busted iPhone.



Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

National Cheese Pizza day is just wrong. I mean pizza is great, but who eats plain cheese pizza? My great-grandmother used to make plain cheese pizza, but she was born in 1902. She never got over the great depression. She thought plain cheese pizza was a luxury. Live a little, throw anything on there.

Your pizza looks delicious Kat. A home that reeks of garlic is a good home to have dinner at.

Ha ha! Chops, I happen to agree with you, the more toppings the better, but that night's pizza crafting was for my boy who likes just cheese and pepperoni. Me, well I prefer just about everything piled on a pie, especially garlic, and after chopping all of the garlic that I chucked in the sauce, my home wasn't the only thing that smelled like that sacred bulb, lol;)!

Hope you have magnificent weekend!

Your pizza look so delicious . You are a expert cooker . I love eating pizza . Thanks for sharing your tips @generikat

Came out looking great! Nothing better than a homemade pie :)

Why, thank you so much! And I so agree, I love, love, love homemade pizza:)

Oh it looks supremely delish! You make a good looking pie, Kat! However, Old Guy style would have a few more fixins...
Pizza_2__PS__P1060363.jpg

PS Edited to add I just stole your pizza idea and posted a DLive vid about mine. Of course I mention you and this post in the description ;)

Oh OGP, your pie looks smashing! That liberal sprinkling of onions makes me want to go whip up something to eat right now! Yum!

And ha ha, that pizza idea wasn't mine, I can't wait to watch your pizza clip, gotta sleep a bit and stack four tons of hay first, but then maybe I can eat an OGP pizza without guilt, lol! Thanks for the shoutout btw, hope you get up to something excellent this weekend!

Last time I used your dough recipe, I needed closer to 3 cups of flour for the consistency to finally be right. I think the kitchen gremlins were at work.

Ha ha ha! The flour part is just to get the dough to come together, there is also the adding flour when kneading part as needed, so truth be told there is probably around three cups per batch. It's a lot easier to knead in the extra flour than take the chance on mixing up an overly dry dough;) Those kitchen gremlins can be heathens though, lol!

I made pizza again last night. I forgot the oil. Oops. But I needed little flour to knead the dough. Not even another 1/4 cup.

Hello how are you? Hey, is there an international day of pizza with cheese? this I did not know is great
Pizza is one of my favorite things with a lot of cheese and sausage

I think now I'm going to copy your pizza recipe and make one I fancy a pizza and let me tell you that yours look great

@generikat what glorious, gooey, oozy, cheezy with a Z ness homemade pizza!! Now thats friggin awesome. Some times I am soo busy I make pizza on naan bread or even tortilla wraps. But your recipes so quick to do. See I always proof mine, so I tend to only pull that out the bag on a special occasion, when i have few hours to spare. Otherwise Dominos it is.lol.

Aww bless your sons cotton socks he must of devoured it.Thanks for the recipe its been bookmarked for pamcooks to use at a later date.Hope you have been well. I have had to take a bit of a hiatus due to ill health ( better now though). I am back on the old steemit and good to go!lol

Oh my friend! I had wondered what happened to your most excellent self! I am so glad to hear that you are on the mend, I have missed your witty commentary and delightful humorisms, lol!

Naan bread is my youngest's favorite thing ever! I bet pizza on left over naan is the cat's whiskers dipped in gelato on the awesome scale! And don't worry, sometimes Pizza Hut is called upon from this house too, ha ha!

So glad you are back!!!😊

Mmm, Pizza. It may be a crime to not eat pizza on national cheese pizza day - good thing you acquiesced to your little gorilla’s request.

I am so glad that I avoided committing a crime then, lol! Today my little gorilla is acquiescing to many of my requests as he forgot to fill the horse's trough yesterday and is rather penitent! Hope all is well back yonder!

Thanks to your wonderful influence, homemade pizza is frequently enjoyed at our house nowadays. :) We usually add sausage, onion, green peppers, olives, mushrooms, and tomatoes. This time of year, zucchini even gets on the pizza. I reeeaallly like Canadian bacon and pineapple on a pizza, too.

I was a wonderful influence? EGADS!

Your influence has been beyond wonderful, as there are two children that have been adoring your school supply offering as of late!:)

And T and I like the everything but the kitchen sink approach to topping pizzas, but sometimes it is nice to be benevolent to the offspring, right? lol!

Pizza at home one of the best things in life, luck that your son asked you to prepare it and will enjoy that delicacy, the pizza the next day is great, I love it

Greetings from Venezuela

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50