Brownie Surprise

in #food7 years ago

A Recipe And A Remembrance


IMG_0703.JPG


For the last almost two decades, we have attended our friend's home for almost every Super Bowl. I personally love National Indulgence Day, and look forward to a gut busting food fest on the first Sunday of February every year. We can always be counted on to bring the three original dishes that we brought to that first party we attended all those years ago, my husband's guacamole, his won tons, and my Brownie Surprise.

When we first moved to Idaho we would go to my grandma's for Sunday dinner. It was a weekly ritual that included a big table set out in my Grandpa's garage. Adorning the table was all manner of magnificent cooking courtesy of my Tennessee born Grandma. Plates of friend chicken beckoned one as soon as they parked the car under the pines that lined my grandparent's home, and it was out of the desire to place a dish on the garage table worthy of family praise that Brownie Surprise was born.

IMG_0683.JPG

In those days I hadn't amassed my current baking repertoire, and was attending college and working full time, so I started off my dessert quest by baking a box of brownie mix. Of course I added some extras to the brownies, usually a cup of milk chocolate chips or two.

IMG_0685.JPG

Next, I whipped together some chocolate pudding, whipping cream, and milk. I remember my twenty year old self feeling pretty excellent about the direction of the dish as I slathered the chocolate mousse on top of the cooled brownies.

IMG_0696.JPG


IMG_0697.JPG

The top layer was the extra creamy kind of non-dairy whipped topping. As you can tell, there is absolutely nothing healthy about this dish, it is a pure, convenience food, caloric laden carb and fat fest.

IMG_0699.JPG

The original Brownie Surprise was topped with sliced, blanched almond pieces. When I laid my newly formed recipe masterpiece on the shop table, my Uncle J walked over and inquired about it. As I explained what it was he exclaimed,

"Well it's a Brownie Surprise!"

IMG_0701.JPG

The name stuck. I made Brownie Surprise a lot of the next few years, as I knew that my uncle especially loved it, and I always enjoyed his raised eyebrow inquiry when he asked what I had brought to Football Sunday. We lost my uncle five years ago at the young age of 49, and every year on Superbowl Sunday, when I craft Brownie Surprise, I smile and have a good ol remembrance moment. Food really is a magical thing.

IMG_0732.JPG

Brownie Surprise became a legend at my friend's house for a completely different reason. One year I didn't (or forgot) to grease the pan enough before I baked the brownies for the bottom layer. As one of the kids tried to scoop out a slab, the very stout Pampered Chef serving spatula they were using snapped and launched a piece of Brownie Surprise right into a potted plant. We still laugh about that flying food Super Bowl moment every year.

So, even though I tend to eat differently most of the year, there are some dishes like Brownie Surprise that must be made every Super Bowl. Not only for nostalgia purposes but also because some types of food needs to happen once in a while, even if it is about as good for you as a gas station hot dog on a humid Friday afternoon.


Brownie Surprise

1 family size box of brownie mix (It needs to make a 13X9" pan full)
1 cup milk chocolate chips
1 6 ounce box instant chocolate pudding mix
1 pint heavy whipping cream
1 cup milk
1 tub (16 ounces) extra creamy non dairy whipped topping
Optional garnish, chocolate shreds, chocolate chips, chopped nuts of your preference.

Prepare brownies according to package directions and stir in chocolate chips. Bake brownies in a 9X13 pan according to package directions. Cool completely. I usually pop the brownies into the fridge if I am in a hurry and haven't baked them the night before.

Mix whipping cream, pudding mix, and milk together with a stand mixer or hand mixer. Whip it until a nice, creamy chocolate-like mousse comes together.

Spread the chocolate mousse on top of the cooled brownies. Then spread the whipped topping on top of the chocolate layer. Garnish with desired toppings.

Enjoy the dish with people that you are hopefully fond of!


And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's relatively dairy and indigestion free iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?



Click Here!

Sort:  

please contact me on discord - https://discordapp.com

Steemit.chat is down for now. I am trying to coordinate the meetup, thanks

Hey @gringalicious! Where exactly on the realm that is discord are you located, lol! I don't use it too much! The only server I am on is the steemtrail one.

Brownie Surprise, a cake name that may have a very deep meaning for you, it seems very good, but it will feel more beautiful when we eat together with beloved family. Hopefully your day will always be fun @generikat.

Wonderful dishes are always better served to a crowd, I totally agree!

Thank you so much for stopping by my friend, I always enjoy your comments!

National indulgence day... love that!! :D

YAY! I am so glad that you do! LOL!

Today I was crazing Domimos brownies ( a pizza place). Holy moly the freshly baked brownies are always like sex in my mouth. I always have a box of brownie mix at home , until I remind myself that I’m on a diet :D

LOL! I hope I didn't inadvertently sabotage your diet with the brownie post! One of my favorite things of all time is a brownie that is warm from the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top, GAH!

gas station hot dog on a humid Friday afternoon

I won't lie, I'm all about me some gas station hot dogs! These brownies look tasty! :)

Ha ha ha! You are a food connoisseur of the highest order!

It is amazing how strong our ties to food and memories and tradition can be! Those seem like super powerful brownies, for sure! And it's better to be serving that to a crowd, rather than just for a couple folks, lol. Happy brownie eating!

You put my whole post into one majestic comment! You are so right too, some dishes are just better served to a crowd.

And I happily ate a massive hunk of Brownie Surprise! Definitely not as healthy as your standard HH fare, but it was pretty tasty:o) Hope you are doing well!

Nom nom nom!

Well thank you! Hopefully you found yourself some form of baked good to nom on, lol!

generikat you make Brownie Surprise !
how much time it take to made in home!
i really like it!

I'm very happy that you liked the Brownie Surprise! It's a very easy recipe, so hopefully you can make yourself some too!

Have you let the Pampered Chef know their product is also a food launcher? They might be able to work that into their marketing! LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86