A Sugar Free Lavender Lemonade Recipe

in #food7 years ago (edited)

A Pleasing Liquid Refreshment For One's Nose And Tastebuds!

IMG_7413.JPG

Lavender harvest is in full swing here on the homestead! Every morning for the last week has been encompassed with the absolutely horrible job of waking up early and wandering through a deliciously fragrant, vibrant purple field full of delicate flowers. I almost cringe in horror as I think about the torture that is harvesting lavender. The smell alone, egads! Heh.

IMG_7399.JPG

Now that my moment of not so subtle sarcasm has been exhausted, let me move on with this delightfully scented post. As I type this I am sipping on the most refreshing libation: lavender lemonade. Every year I spend one week harvesting lavender buds and another week harvesting lavender blooms for the distillation of hydrosol. Every year I also take the time to brew some lavender lemonade to sip on so that my entrails might achieve the same zen as my lavender scented extrails. Or something like that.

IMG_7401.JPG

You see, harvesting lavender is one of the best stress relieving jobs that I have ever done. I stroll into the field, dollar store scissors in hand, and before I have given the first lavender bush a flat top my mellow is far less harsh. Indeed, running your hands through blooming lavender, stopping your internal and external movement for a good ol fashioned inhale, and just appreciating where you are at in the moment all occurs when you harvest lavender. It is quite a plant.

IMG_7402.JPG

Lavender lemonade harnesses some of that exuded chill in a glass. As I don't really ingest sugar all to often my recipe uses stevia extract as the sweetener, but you can totally sub 1/2 cup of honey or sugar in place of the stevia. Neither I or the lavender will care, we are just chilling here.

IMG_7407.JPG

Sugar Free Lavender Lemonade

5 cups of water
1/4 cup lemon juice (I use the juice of 1 large lemon)
1/4 tsp powdered stevia
1/4 cup fresh lavender (Or around 2 TBSP dried lavender)

Bring 2 1/2 cups of water to a boil, and stir in the stevia.

Pour the sweetened boiling water over the lavender and steep for 20 mins. Strain out the lavender.

Add the remaining 2 1/2 cups of cold water and the lemon juice. Give it a whisk and pour your drink of relaxation and scentsation into an ice filled glass.

Sip and forget about it all!

IMG_7411.JPG

So, even though I have another week of lavender stem snipping and hydrosol producing ahead of me, my nerves aren't frazzled with too-much work ahead of me anticipation at all. Nay, I am all out chilled out with some lavender lemonade in my glass and a chair under my, er, flintlocks{1}.


{1} Family logger slang for derriere, caboose, um, gluteus maximus.


And as always, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's very chill lavender scented iPhone.


Want to read more @Generikat posts?


Click Here

Sort:  

Very nice Recipes. What a healthy drink. I am going to try it today only. Thanks for sharing. I loved it. Upvoted and followed.

Oh! Thank you so much for everything! I sure hope you like the lemonade, it is one of my very favorite drinks, and I followed you too!

sounds good. I have been making lavender infused vodka, yum!

Oh, it was very good, and I sure hope to see a post about that vodka! Wow!!

how was it ?

Very tasty and enjoyable!

will definitely try that one day, my parents have lavender in the garden ;-)

Oh, I sure hope that you do, and that you enjoy it as well!

Life always goes better with a cold one in hand ;) Sounds perfect for half of a shandy!

Agreed!! And I like the way that you think, lol!!

Its look delicious! You make me hungry @generikat

Thank you @tranguyen! I sure hope that you found something delicious to eat! 😊

The stem just added the perfect touch 👌🏽

It's all about the garnish, right! lol! Thank you! 😊

That sounds absolutely refreshing. I was taken aback when I had my first lavender latte and how devilishly good it was. I can only imagine how my taste buds will sing after trying the lemonade version. Stepping away from the Arnold Palmers to try this. Thank you for the temptation.

Your reaction sounds a lot like mine when I was offered my first taste of lavender infused cuisine. In my case it was lavender ice cream, and I thought it was going to taste like soap or something, lol! Lavender food is amazing! I sure hope you enjoy the lemonade, the sugar sweetened version is yummy too, but I like my stevia sweetened lavender lemonade a lot! Thank you for such a cool comment!!!

I like the idea of using honey as well. My taste buds are always open to a new adventure. Sometimes, it's nice to just trust that it will be rewarding.

I'm like you regarding taste bud experimentation willingness! When it comes to food there is very little I won't try at least once. Honey and lavender go nicely together, just sometimes you have to tweak the honey amount to your personal preference depending on how strong the honey is. Love that you have such a cool fooditude! lol!

Yummy!

I agree!! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57959.67
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44