A Retirement Cake Fit For A Librarian

in #food8 years ago

A German Chocolate Book Cake


German Chocolate Cake, Milk Chocolate Buttercream, Toasted Coconut and Pecan frosting, and White Almond trim frosting.

Today was spent creating multiple different frostings, applying said frostings, and writing in my best-worst handwriting on a labor of carbohydrate-laden love for my retiring manager. This week has been stressful as it was her last week, but my co-workers and I had to keep our retirement soiree planned in her honor a complete secret. I am not great at subterfuge, but I was for one week, and the stress of not spilling the party news beans was worth it upon seeing the surprise on her face as she walked into the house and saw what we had done in her honor.

Her favorite cake is German Chocolate, and apparently my version she adores. I'm not much of an adornment person, rather, I tend to focus more on taste. This is not to say that I don't love the amazing, artistic creations that so many bakers around the planet churn out; I am in full awe and admiration when I behold their skill. My realm of expertise is more humble in nature and hopefully a touch elegant. I try. Dry cake is one of the worst things in the world, as is sickly sweet frosting. Ugh. The following recipe is not healthy, nor is the cake completely from scratch. I do everything from scratch most of the time, but they wanted the cake baked in the shape of a book, and I had a bunch of farm work to accomplish recently due to upcoming sub-zero weather. Thus, I used my cheat recipe for the cake. I thought I would share it with you all in case you need a tasty cake in a hurry!

Generikat's Quick German Chocolate Cake

1 German Chocolate cake mix with pudding in the mix
1 package of chocolate fudge instant pudding (3 ounce size)
1/2 cup of vegetable oil
1 cup of buttermilk
1/4-1/2 cup of water (You want the consistency of the cake mix just right, not runny, but not too thick, kind of like a good milkshake)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Spray desired baking pan with non-stick spray and cut a piece of parchment paper to fit the bottom of whatever pan you are using. Mix all ingredients together in a stand mixer or with a hand mixer for 30 seconds, scrape down the sides, beat on med-high for 4 minutes. Pour into desired pans and bake until you can insert a toothpick and it comes out clean. Let cool at least 10 minutes before removing from your pan.

I always bake my cakes the night before I need to frost them, and cover them with plastic wrap after removing them from the pan. They are so incredibly moist the next day!

Next time I do a cake post, I will post the Coconut Pecan Frosting recipe that I use. That I always make from scratch, and even though I have to stir the stuff for 12 minutes while it's cooking, it is totally worth it when I observe the enjoyment on people's faces as they eat it.

Goodnight to you all!

Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

I am so very glad, thank you:o)!

Tasty post! ☆☆☆☆☆😎

Great post upvote and follow you.
Gran post te voto y te sigo.
Follow me please.

Many thanks to you for the comment and the follow! You are followed:o)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42