Ragi or Millet Cake for a Sweet Sunday Evening!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hi Friends... Today Let's talk about the making of this sweet dish, which is delicious and much good for health too... :)

image

This is made of Ragi or Black Millet, and is very good for health. Though it is sweet, use of Jaggery instead of sugar makes it much good, and children will surely love this food.....

To make this we need...

Ragi or Millet flour--200 grams.
Coconut milk - 1 packet thick coconut milk.
Jaggery - 200 to 300 grams (as per your liking for sweetness)
Salt- 1/2 teaspoon
Cardamom - 2
Pure Ghee - 2 table spoon.
Dry fruits for garnishing

image

image

Method
Powder the jaggery.
If you are using home made coconut milk, then grate the coconut, grind it with 200 ml. of water, sieve and take the milk. Or use packed Coconut milk readily available from a good brand.

Add the jaggery powder to the coconut milk, and keep stirring till the jaggery dissolves. Add cardamom powder, salt and Ragi or Millet powder little by little stirring in between. Take care to see that there are no lumps. We can add upto one to two cups of water. Keep this covered for one hour so that Ragi gets soaked well. This batter should not be much thick and should be bit watery...

image

image

Now take a non-stick fry pan or a heavy bottomed kadai and pour 2 tablespoons of pure ghee and then this entire mixture, and heat it on low flame with constant stirring till it becomes slightly thicker and comes to a boil. (it soon comes to a boil within 5 minutes on low flame). Let it boil for 2 to 4 minutes. Switch off the flame.

image

image

Here we must not stop stirring because if we stop, it soon sticks to the vessel and starts burning at the bottom of the vessel.

Pour this into molds or to an open plate and when it comes to the room temperature, garnish with dry fruits and keep it in the fridge for another half an hour, and can cut into desired size pieces.

image

Wow! Your yummy Ragi cake pieces are ready to eat!! ....

Here all the three ingredients Ragi, Coconut and Jaggery are good for health... So try this...

Have a great Sunday evening...

Lovingly Your's @geetharao...

Sort:  

Really it's very delicious. Thanks for the recipe.

yummy! although I've never had this before it looks incredibly delicious... thanks for sharing the detailed steps ma'am, you're a great cook :)

Hi Sir @jznsamuel... Thanks for your compliments.

Nice indian recipe. It looks very tasty.

woww......
really looking very tasty.....

Mam You can make great YouTube or dtube videos and you are a great competition to other cooking channels everyone try to eat good food and spcly jaggery has no side effects I love to eat churma please share it's recipe next time will wait for your cooking video 😊😊😊

Hi @lovepreet2511... First of all thank you so much for your comments.
After retirement from my Bank job, I am a house wife now. I don't have much knowledge of computers and whatever work I am doing here is entirely using my smartphone Honor. Taking vedios etc may not be possible for me now. I am just enjoying my writing and sharing on this platform. Anyways I will keep in mind that..... :)
And I don't know the method of preparing Churma as it is a Rajastani dish.....

It's OK mam one day you will have a great following and then we will set up a dtube channel 😊

I have not tasted ever this special cake, but it looks very tasty.

Delicious recipe!

I must try it at home.

Thanks for sharing the recipe mam👏👍, looks yummy 😋😋😋😋

I can feel water in my mouth. I love sweet dishes and this one I can try at my home. Thanks for sharing the recipe @geetharao ji.

Posted using Partiko Android

you increase my hungry. I also so love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79