A good home-made medicine for Cough and Cold!

in #food5 years ago

Yes, Friends... We call it 'Kashaya' in our regional language. It's a very good home made medicine for Cough and Cold. Both me and my son had severe cold and cough for nearly a week. Then I thought of trying this 'Kashaya', which my mom as well as grandma used to give us in our childhood days whenever we had a cold and cough attacks!!.

uy77xwwy5s.jpg

This is made by boiling few leaves and other things in water. Just have it hot with a bit of lemon juice!

These plants are easily available in my garden.

s9k1nnuvff.jpg

For serving two...
1.Indian Borage - 15 to 20 leaves.
2.Basil or Thulsi - 20 leaves.
3.Ginger - 1inch long.
4.Pepper powder - 1/2 teaspoon.
5.Crystal sugar - 25 grams. Or even jaggery powder will do.
6.Lemon juice - 2 teaspoons.

Clean the leaves and ginger properly, cut into small pieces and boil in a vessel in half litre water. When it starts boiling, lower the flame and keep covered. Let it boil till it reduces to 2/3 times. Now sieve and when it is still hot, add lemon juice and have a cup of hot Kashaya slowly, sip by sip...

1ew851wz24.jpg

mjsnlmvb9j.jpg

This is a very good home made medicine which makes us feel good in case of severe cold and cough. In olden days, we were given these home made medicines only by our parents and grandparents. But children nowadays are not aware of the goodness of these leaves!!.

Hope you liked this post.

With much love and regards, @geetharao...

Sort:  

hope you both are feeling better now ma'am :)
my mom makes it too, we call it Kashayam!!

Excellent, affordable medicine, it is necessary to pass a prescription to children in order to preserve traditional medicine :)

Hi friend 😊. That is the big leaf here called oregano orejón and it serves to reduce inflammation.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi dear @karlin... Thank you so much for reading my blog and for the great information....

Es un gusto 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

This post about kashaya made me miss my grandmother a lot. She passed away a few years ago. I used to drink the kashaya she made, as if it was wine :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @rogerloren... Thank you so much for reading my blog...

Always a pleasure!

Posted using Partiko Android

Naturepathy is far better than artificial cough syrup.

Posted using Partiko Android

My favourite tea.
Thanks for sharing this post..
I like it this post..
I appreciate your valuable post...
Upvote and resteemit done sir..

This is great to hear. We also have one of this herb where i live

Herbal medicine this is real good and better solution.

2nd pictures I think this is ajvayain leaves.

Thanks for sharing friend.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi dear @shashiprabha... First of all Thank you so much for reading my blog. And in the 2nd picture it's the same Indian borage or Sambaraballi we call here and the other one is Thulsi.....
And you have mentioned about 'Ajwain'.
I just referred Google. Yes, ajwain and Indian borage are the same!....

Didi ajvayain leaves same eshi tarh ki dikhati h our bo bhi cough or cold me le jati h

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, Shashiprabha... I referred Google. This is called ajwain in Hindi. :)
Thank you...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks friend for attention and replying I also continue watching your all posts and liking this is in my febret blog.

Posted using Partiko Android

We use here mulethi to get rid of cough and cold. Nice sharing again.

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful photography sir.
Thanks for sharing this post..
I like it this post..
I appreciate your valuable post..
Upvote and resteemit done sir 👌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05