Wheat Peas Curry (safed Matar Cholle)

in #food7 years ago

🌿🌿Safed Matar Cholle with Parathas
(White Peas Curry)

((No onion or garlic, except what I used for garnishing))

The last time we went grocery shopping, P's eyes totally lit up on seeing the matra 😍 While I said okay, 🙆🏻deep inside I was dreading the thought not because I dislike matra but because I was scared of attempting to make this childhood favorite, since the amazing taste is etched in memory very vividly. P's excitement showed it's the same for him
💕💕Somethings are best made by moms, no?

But I didn't have the heart to say no, as we don't get the normal kabuli chana home too, since I'm allergic. Now how much will you deprive someone of, right?
😂 Yes, we get sentimental about food like that 💁🏻💁🏻 and it's okaaaay

This one I made using my mom's recipe and I'm glad and proud to say that it turned out just 👌🏻👌🏻💗💃🏻
We paired these with hot and soft parathas, some pickle and salad and that's your hearty meal made right there
🥂🥂To new dishes, old recipes and happy meals!

Recipe -
📝Soak the matar overnight and boil in fresh water with some salt. They should be tender once done. Retain the water as well
📝In a kadhaai, temper all these in some olive oil or whichever oil you use - ginger green chilli paste, asafoetida, cumin seeds, red chilli powder and turmeric powder. Keep the flame low
📝Add the matar and now put in all the tastemakers (this combination does magic) - garam masala, rock salt, roasted cumin powder, chat masala, cholle masala and some imli ka paani
(I didn't use the normal salt again, only in boiling. Rest was made up for by black salt and chat masala)
📝Let it cook and allow the masalas to blend, adjust the heat and the tangyness per taste. I even put in little gud (jaggery) to tame the heat as my green chillies were quite, um, chilly 😂
📝Add in the leftover water from boiling, to adjust the consistency as you like.
📝 Garnish with green coriander leaves, some finely chopped tomatoes and onion and maybe some lemon!

image

upvote and follow @gauravchugh

Sort:  

wow, that looks amazing to be honest! I love curry, Chicken Tikka massala ir my fav!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by trueindian777 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80