You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lily's Kombucha Upgrades: Shelf and a few Giant Jars

in #food7 years ago

Love the photos! I need to clean out my big jars. They have turned into scoby hotels and I haven't actually made a fresh batch in several months. I've been playing around with water kefir since it's much quicker to make. But I love both.

Do you not have half the kombucha shoot out of those glass bottles? I tried those and got tired of wasting so much. I use plastic bottles with screw lids now.

Sort:  

Hey! Another brewer :D

I clean out my jars every brew otherwise it starts to taste like beer and I'm not into that. I've got a baby hotel as my oh shit jar in case I fuck up the rest but so far it's just been sitting growing fat pellicles in it. Soon, I'll take them out and feed it.

As for the bottles these are what I've used the whole time. I get perfect fizz so long as I do my end correctly. I burp once a day and I only 2f for like 2 days before it goes into the fridge. Then the carbonation calms down for like a week until it randomly starts building in the cold....kind of suggesting that kombucha caaan brew in those temps just super slow. Anyhow, those bottles are nice because you can hold down the lid as you open them and feel the pressure on your hands. I've had bottles that would have emptied themselves before but I noticed that was going to happen so I held the cap down and burped it bit by bit over a few minutes. Eventually some does foam over, but I aim it in a wait so I can capture it into a cup :)

The only explosion I've had was when it got put into this fridge, I had three large bottles (sob) explode because it was too cold, freezing the bottles and causing the liquid to expand. But other than that, no issues!

And as for water kefir, I wanna try it but I cant get ahold of kefir grains here in Acapulco as far as I know, I'll have to have someone smuggle them. My kombucha starter was originally smuggled from the states, lucky me lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56716.01
ETH 2322.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38