Sweet & Steemy FOOD LOVE From Our Sustainable Outdoor Kitchen

in #food8 years ago

We. Love. Food.

We're bringing you some 

sweet & steemy

FOOD LOVE

today!

We live intimately connected to our land and our plants, and we honor our relationship with food. For more info on our food reality at the Garden of Eden, click here.

Here's our daily spread of beautiful and delicious dishes:

homegrown tomato, Italian basil, and mozzarella salad with balsamic vinegar 


teriyaki mushroom tacos with sriracha sauce


chicken skillet with root vegetables


fresh fig platter with crystallized ginger, almonds, and queso fresco


raspberry chocolate mint cake


You can view our previous food galleries:

1

2

3

4


www.intothegardenofeden.com


Sort:  

Gotta love the figs. We plan on growing a forest of them.
mama-pepper digs the raspberry chocolate mint cake!

How are you propagating those? I have been experimenting with a couple methods. I've taken the trimmed branches and put them in water, in a vase. Slow but do-able. Also, scoring branches while still on the tree then wrapping a plastic bottle around the scored area and packing it with soil. It has to be kept wet. Once it fills with roots I cut off the branch and plant it in a pot. This method also takes a long time. I started all these this past spring and now have only one in a pot and growing along but it's about 4 feet tall. There are still about a half dozen that are not yet ready for the pot. Comments, thoughts?

I've just cut them and planted so far, but the method you talking about when they are still in the tree, called layering, is also very effective.

Here is the official papa-peppers guide to plant propagation that I did on how I am propagating the Fig Trees. Check it out and let me know what you think!

We have 4 fig trees, and they're only a few years old. This year, we've enjoyed our most prolific harvest yet--each tree gave us pounds of fruit a day! Figs are truly one of the foods of the gods.

They are also super easy to propagate.

I made THIS POST on propagating figs a while ago.


This is a photo of the beginning of my FIG ARMY. I've got Celeste, Brooklyn White, Brown Turkey, & Hardy Chicago varieties growing right now. Do you know what kind you've got? I could send you some cuttings this fall/winter for propagating if you would like.

Those are beautiful!! We have Brown Turkey as well. You are truly generous with your plants, good sir!

I hear that actions be louder than words, & I like being loud, so I am a man of action, even if it is solely for the sake of volume.

You will be eating well when all those fig trees are mature! Very nice!

Indeed, is your name an abbreviation of "haphazard homestead"?

Yes, @papa-pepper, Steemit doesn't allow enough letters in a user name for me to use the whole thing. I have a youtube channel by that name, too - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcZCvPPU9dgxD0yXrc9DaPA

It's not a FIGure of speech - it's FIGing awesome how FIGnominal FIGS are! :-D

That's what I FIGured.

A second fig harvest is soon on its way in the Garden of Eden. Fig spread, fig smoothies, fig syrup, fig pancakes, homemade fig newtons....how about fig stuffed with blue cheese, pickled jalapeno and chocolate mint?

Mmmmm that sounds dank!!

Your presentation and photography is fantastic (as well as the food)!

Thank you! We love art, so all things become opportunities for beautiful creation and expression.

oooh that fig platter looks fantastic - completly up my street. Loving the pics and article :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55938.98
ETH 2932.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21