The Accidental Gourmet: SOUP! (or: an Ode to Meesterboom)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food6 years ago

Cold days are here at the moment, and so not only did last night's dinner call for soup, but I was also inspired by @meesterboom post lamenting his slide into poo-ville https://steemit.com/life/@meesterboom/a-treat

which got him wondering if he could remember what would a human do with cumin?!
https://steemit.com/life/@meesterboom/erb

So to begin....Typical me, I started cooking and then wham! I should be taking photos for steemit! THus I began the photo shoot for LENTIL VEGETABLE SOUP after the first bit had started. No worries, we shall start here with some of the ingredients:

1 For Meesterboom
IMG_0708.jpg

Yes, this wonderfully easy Ina Garten recipe called for Cumin, which is of course, in most people's cupboard. Even meesterboom's!

2 The first ingredients are chopped onion, chopped leek, garlic, olive oil, dried thyme and ground cumin. Saute on medium for 15 minutes. Oh, and also in the pic are the french green lentils still soaking in hot boiling water. I find that french lentils are much much much better than "regular" lentils as they stay firmer.

This is the point that I started taking photos - after the sauteeing began:

IMG_0709.jpg

3 Next up: chop a ton of celery and carrots and add to the pot

IMG_0711.JPG

IMG_0715.jpg

4 Stir and saute 10 more minutes

IMG_0716.jpg

5 now add 1/4 cup tomato paste plus 3 quarts of chicken stock (okay, I didn't make my own, but if you have your own then yay!) I also added a splash of red wine vinegar at this point even tho I was supposed to wait til the end

IMG_0718.jpg

6 Strain the lentils and add to the pot. Bring to a boil then simmer for 45min to an hour
IMG_0719.JPG

IMG_0724.JPG

7 TOp with parmesan cheese and Bon Appetit!

IMG_0733.jpg

Last night I had to go to a meeting so I wolfed down a cup with a note to Mr gardenlady that dinner was on the stove. I also fixed some baguette slices for him to enjoy with his soup. When I got home, he said "I ate a lot of soup."

I call that success ;0)

Happy cooking everyone! @gardenlady

Ina garten recipe found here https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/lentil-vegetable-soup-recipe-1948822

(all photos mine, as usual, taken with my now oldfashioned iphone 6+)

Sort:  

Thank you, and that's Mrs. Lady to you ;0)

Oh yes every time we have ham I use the bone and whatever is left over for some lentil soup... MMMM I was raised on that stuff!

I like how that looks, looks very tasty :)

A refresher course in the soups!! And the lessor cumin. Wayhay!! Looks lovely!

totes delish! I dare say you could get the little lady to pull up a stool and start taking some cooking lessons with you ;-) THen you would be pleasantly detained if there was any poo going on elsewhere in the house ;0)

Hehe, we have already started that kind of thing. She kind of loses interest halfway thru but it's early days!!

here's a funny vlog of some crazy lady with nothing else to do but get her toddler to do the cooking...

She must be mental. I will have to check it out when I am on the wi-fi's!!

it's kinda cute, but then....enough!

"I ate a lot of soup."

Do you eat soup or drink it, or perhaps something in between?

great question! perhaps it's 'slurp'. I slurped a lot of soup ;0)

Wonderful to see this looks excellent : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55030.03
ETH 2337.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32