Homemade Cabbage Rolls...Featuring All Vegetables From My Garden.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I was taking my morning walk through my garden's and realized that my Cabbage is ready to harvest, so I decided tonight for supper I was going to make Homemade Cabbage Rolls, with Green Beans and a Broccoli Sunrise Salad. This Post will reveal my grandmother's simple recipe for Homemade Cabbage Rolls. The recipe is 60 years old and first time sharing with the outside world.

First you will need the ingredients:

cabbage 1.jpg

Ground Pork only I know many use both ground beef and pork mix but I just use ground Pork.

cabbage 4.jpg

Once I have my ground pork in the pan I start adding 1/4 cup of fresh Garlic diced up fine, 1/3 cup of white onions, 1/3 cup of Green Peppers, and 1/4 cup of Celery -ALL these ingredients from my garden.

cabbage 5.jpg

Can't forget the Salt and Pepper. I use only Sea Salt.

While your Pork is cooking you will want to put your regular non sticky white rice on to boil, you will need 2 cups.

cabbage 6.jpg

Then while your Pork and Rice are cooking, You will need to all important Cabbage to be boiling to become soft to release it's leaves with ease. Approximately 30 mins on medium High.

cabbage 2.jpg

Once the Pork with all the vegetables and Garlic are done browning, you will want to add it to your cooked rice. Mix it all up.

cabbage 7.jpg

Then comes the fun stuff. Your Cabbage should be just about ready so remove the cabbage from heat and just run a little cold water in the pot so it is cool enough to the touch. Then you will want to gently roll or pull off a leave and lay in flat and fill it with the pork/ rice mixture just about a spoonful and a quarter. Then you will want to fold the two ends into the middle and wrap the sides around and lay it flat in a baking dish, like a Lasagna dish.

cabbage 8.jpg

Once you have filled the dish with the cabbage rolls, then grab your favorite tomato sauce or stewed tomatoes. and pour the entire can all over the top as I have started to do in the picture.

Then you will want to place Aluminum foil over the top so as to not dry them out, and place it in the oven for 25 minutes on 350 degrees, and voila, you have homemade Cabbage Rolls.

cabbage 3.jpg

It was really nice serving them with these wonderful green beans.

Hope you guys will try this recipe.

Happy Trails

Sort:  

Hmm cabbage rolls. That's been a while since we made them. Thanks for the reminder. They look so good. Especially, knowing that all the vegs came from the garden.

You know, it had been a long while since I had made them too, then when I looked in my garden and said oh ya I grew cabbage just to do the cabbage rolls. They are a great meal to freeze for those nights you just have not interest in cooking. Thank you

I wish you were my neighbor and that you brought me food all the time.

LOL, We are at least in the same Country. I do often share my harvest and preserves with my neighbors.

Dis dish Must be lIttle spicy. I love spicy

Nope not spicy at all, the only spices are Salt and Pepper. Hope you try it.

I have never made cabbage rolls. Hubby's mom used to fix them for their family, tho. I might have to surprise him with this dish one of these days. Thanks for sharing an heirloom recipe!

@aunt-deb, it is really too easy. Just like preparing a simple casserole. Hope you do give it a go.

I think the part about prepping the cabbage leaves has intimidated me in the past, but this seems doable. Definitely on the 'try it' list!

Yum, yum. I haven't had cabbage rolls in years. They are so delicious but I live by myself and rarely put forth the effort anymore. Looking at your post might have just changed that. I also have a cabbage ready to pick.

@themerrylotus it really is as easy as slapping a casserole like shepphards pie together, It really does not take long at all.

That's it, I'm making them. You gave me that nudge that I evidentially needed. I have no indoor kitchen and cook over a campfire and I think these will do nicely. Thanks for that nudge, wink.

This looks tasty. When I was a kid, I didn't much like cabbage. My grandma tried to get me to eat it, but I wouldn't budge. It was an acquired taste for me, but eventually I did acquire it. Trying coleslaw is what finally got me to eat cabbage, then I tasted other recipes that she made. Finally I liked it. This looks good, I'd like to try this.


Fellow Steemians, please support @gardengirlcanada with your REAL comments and an upvote. I will randomly select one of your comments for a 100% Upvote

supportauthor.gif

Thank you. Hope you give it a try.

I will give it a try

That is the spirit! You wont be sorry. Post pic's if you can, would love to see.

Ok ill let you know

they look great, thanks for sharing this recipe. I'd love to make a vegetarian version of this.

Very nice looks like a definitely winner a must try!

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75