The comforts of home are going to cost you in Vietnam

in #food3 years ago

I don't really miss a great deal about my home country USA but there are a few items that I childishly cling to even though I am not a kid. Go ahead and judge me but there are things that I have loved since I was 5 years old and I still do and probably always will.


image.png

There is a local store that mostly featured traditionally Vietnamese products but on occasion they get some cereals that I can only presume that Vietnamese people don't eat at all. To be honest, I don't think breakfast cereal has much popularity here at all and I have never heard of a Vietnamese person talking about them nor have I seen the in any of their houses. They just aren't popular here.

This box of Lucky Charms, which I was delighted to find, cost more than $12 and it was the smaller version of the box.


image.png

I suppose we should celebrate our differences because when I was young, the cereal aisle of the grocery store was a land of wonderment for me and was my favorite part of the shopping journey with my mother. The sheer amount of options we had was staggering. Here in Da Nang, if there is any cereal in the shop at all it is going to normally be just a few brands and for some reason, always Corn Flakes - which tastes like you are eating milky dust if you ask me.

So what say you? Is a box of Lucky Charms worth $12? Almost certainly not but that's what it's gonna cost you if you want them here.

I've never looked for it when I was there because it wasn't something that I was interested in at all but I wonder if there are some specialty Vietnamese products in American grocery stores that cost 3-4 times what they would cost here?

Sort:  

Hi sir. I need your help. Can i Contacts you on discord. Please.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56716.01
ETH 2322.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38