Future Food Episode 01 - 2nd Week on 100% Joylent

in #food8 years ago

It's been 14 days since my last "regular" meal

And ever since then I have switched to Joylent shakes as my only nutrition. Besides water tea and coffee I don't consume anything else. In my previous post, I have explained my motivations and the reason for turning this project into a documentary.

I have to say that before I started this diet, I was somewhat in a blur or a state of obliviousness because I had no idea how this would turn out. I was more focused on documenting my regular food diet and trying to come up with ways to visualise the food culture that surrounds me. Now that I started with the future foods diet I realise that it's such a drastic lifestyle change. It's almost impossible to prepare yourself for this type of change.

Have a look at this video; it sums up what happened before the diet and how I feel the 2nd week into my diet.

FAQ's

One of the things that I encounter on a daily base is a strong disbelief concerning my health development throughout the year. These are the FAQ's so far:

-Aren't you going to lose a lot of weight?
-You'll get severe diarrhoea.
-Won't your teeth stop working since you only drink?
-Do you think you can keep this up for a year?
-This can't be healthy, are you seeing a doctor?

It's funny to see that people are scared once they are introduced to a new type of food. And of course, I understand that what I'm doing is pretty extreme. But on the other hand, if you look at what people stuff themselves with on a daily basis I think one year living on a well-nutrition fluid can't be all that bad. The human body is a pretty strong machine I'd say. So far I have to say that I feel magnificent. Like I said in the video;

-More and well-divided energy.
-No diner dips or peaks.
-Real good and solid sleep.
-Snack urges are gone.

Apart from being notably more gassy than normal (this should be getting better over time) I can conclude that this type of diet has brought forward positive changes. That said, it's still early stage, who knows what might happen the coming year.


For my next post, I'd like to write more about the product itself. I meet so many people that have never heard of these type of meal replacements, and these conversations start to become a bit of a drag. At times I feel like a Joylent representative or salesperson just by explaining people I'm not doing 100% protein shakes or fruit juices.


Follow me @futurefood

Sort:  

Wow Amazing! I literally just uploaded a post on Soylent then I saw this.

I posted on your blog.

Hey, what exactly do you mean? Which blog?

My bad, you were talking to @romz410

ok, that is pretty weird.. in a cool way! Will you do regular updates? Really curious what you think of Soylent!
I think they don't ship to EU yet...

I noticed that they dont ship to the EU as yet. Hence Joylent being a suitable replacement with happier branding. I'll do some more updates, most likely along the lines of 100% soylent with weightlifting, biking and Brazilian Jiu-jitsu routines

Part of the secret of a success in life is to eat what you like and let the food fight it out inside.

I think it's exactly the opposite. Lots of people eat what they like and I'm not sure if that's really helping our overall health issues. But perhaps I misunderstand your comment..?

I'm intrigued by your experiment and keen to see how you go. I don't have a problem with the concept at all. Though I have concerns (as a nutrition consultant) about two of the products. Joylent (sorry @koningsbruggen) and Soylent both have soy protein which I believe is very damaging. Joylent also has artificial sweetener. I'd go for Huel or Nano, if it was me. Good luck!

Thnx for your feedback, I have heard these claims before. In what way are these type op ingredients damaging? Curious!
Perhaps a link to an article?

Two main reasons. Legumes have anti-nutrients like phytic acid that bind to minerals and stop them being absorbed. Normally if you soak them for 12-24 hours, then rinse and cook in fresh water, those anti-nutrients will be neutralised. But with soy, they are only neutralised through fermentation. So natto, tempeh, miso and tamari are ok to eat, but not tofu, soy protein powder or meat replacements. Secondly is the phyto-estrogens which are said to be so good for women. They are actually not that good for women, but much worse for men and children. I might write an article for Steemit at some stage, but for now, more on this link: http://www.westonaprice.org/soy-alert/

and here's a steemit article on soy that just came out https://steemit.com/food/@knozaki2015/stay-away-from-soy-products

The video is broken, can we still see it somewhere?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64133.95
ETH 3172.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57