Paleo cooking with funkit

in #food7 years ago

I got this idea from reading @janusface 's blog. He had some wild ideas and I just wondered can we add more fat? More protein? Sure we can. Too bad I only got hold on chicken today. I normally prefere pork.

Meat mung casserole.

The base ingredients in this recipe is mung beans and meat. And if you don't know what mung beans are, you have missed a interesting staple food. I always store some with my lentils to get some variation.

Source: Wikipedia

Mungbeans are about 1/8 size of peas, so I don't bother soaking them before use. They are dense in protein, minerals and folate. Perfect for meat and fish dishes.

The paleo purist might not agree with nightshade plants. But I'm no purist. And I disagree that the lovely night shades should be excluded.

I normally use porks leg in this dish. But chicken works fine. And if you are hard core, hen works. The meat of hen is stringy so it might not be for everyone. Chicken wings is also good but a nightmare to debone.

ingredients

1-2 kg meat
3-4 cups of mung beans

  • salt
  • cayenne pepper
  • turmeric
  • thyme
  • enough water to cover the meat. Refill as it boils away.

IMG_1097.JPG

Praparations

Put the meat in a casserole and cover it in water. Add salt. About 1-2 teaspoons. This can be adjusted to taste later.

IMG_1099.JPG

Add pepper and turmeric early on in the cooking. I like it to really saturate the meat.

Bring it to boiling point and let it simmer 1-2 hours till the meat easily falls off the bones. The more time it takes, the better.

Now let the meat cool off in a bowl, leave the broth in the casserole. Add mung beans to the broth, approx 1/4-1/3 parts beans and about 2/3 parts broth. Bring it to boiling point and keep it there. It takes approx half an hour.

When the beans starts to break apart, add thyme in generous quantities. I love this herb, so I wonder if there really is a upper limit.

Debone the chicken and cut it to nice little chunks. And add it to the beans. Adjust salt and spices to taste.

Endnote

This is a time consuming process, so I like to make a huge portion. You can freeze blocks of it to preserve it for later.

Don't ever throw away good broth. If you find it to be too much, save it for a sauce or something.

Sort:  

It looks delicious, I love all those spices. You are a man of many talents!

Looks yummy! Food for a Viking:) I have not used mung beans before, I can see that they got lots of proteins. Gonna start using them.

Do it. I get it from the Turkish shop in my neighborhood. For variation get some lentils as well. They are easier to prepare.

Where do you buy the beans btw, I am not sure if a have seen them in the grocery stores?

Immigrant stores usually have them.

great meal enjoyyyy

wonderful idea making food . thank you for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63