The Perfect Banana

in #food7 years ago (edited)

You want them to be brown and spotty.

They taste the sweetest, they're easiest to digest, and they're believed to have higher levels of antioxidents as they ripen.

Unripe bananas have some benefit too; they have resistant starch and are good for your colon and stuff like that. So both can be good, but if you want them ripe and sweet don't be afraid to let them get spotty.

Those are the organic bananas from Whole Foods. Not all bananas ripen with that beautiful, picturesque brown spottiness (notice the Chiquita banana in the background who has been chillin' on the window sill for just as long), but these ones do.

In general I don't worry too much about buying organic things. Maybe I should but I don't. It seems like the kind of thing you should go all the way with; like eating half organic and half regular, you're still introducing those chemicals to your body, so it doesn't seem like that much of an improvement.

Kind of talking out of my ass, but it wouldn't surprise me if it's similar to how germs work, where the people who wash their hands all the time and don't eat food that fell on the floor don't build up any immunity to it, and then more easily become sick when they do come into contact with something.

So going all the way with it seems like it would be a big hassle, and going part way seems like it wouldn't help that much.

Plus it can be kind of a racket too where the farmer has to pay the FDA for the label "organic", so you end up paying just for that.

So basically I buy organic things when I feel like it, like when I'm in the mood to be an upper-middle class soccer mom for the day, or when I think it actually tastes better. In my experience organic bananas ripen better and taste better to me, so I'll often buy them for that reason.

Y they so obsessed??

I could be wrong and organic is really important, I don't know. But I actually find the obsession with organic things to be kind of weird.

Like there are so many other things you could worry about that are much more important and don't cost extra money. Drinking enough water so that you piss clear. Eating a bunch of fiber and avoiding the foods that your body doesn't handle well.

In general what you eat, the foundation of your diet and lifestyle, is much more important than the exact farming methods behind the food.

So I can't help but think the organic thing is some sort of brainwashing to rake in a few bucks for the FDA.

They'll butcher animals and eat their flesh and drown their cereal in a mother cow's reproductive fluid that inherently has chemicals designed to make her baby cow become huge very fast. And then worry about what was sprayed on a tomato.

I'm not so much trying to make a vegan pitch, just like vegan or not vegan, there are so many things you can do differently that will be more meaningful to your health than being the person who only buys organic.

Also, a veggie burger:

That's from last nite. Probably not organic, but vegan and delicious!

It'd actually be really obnoxious to eat a burger like that out of all organic ingredients. Organic mayo, organic bread, organic cheese? Organic BBQ sauce? Wat?

I realize all those things probably exist, but it seems a needless barrier that just makes your lifestyle more complicated and expensive, and essentially is like a hindrance to whatever changes you might want to make that are actually meaningful.


I basically just wanted to show off my bananas and it turned into this organic speech. I hope you enjoyed.

The end.

Sort:  

True! This is the best time to eat them. I know people who like them green. I tell them that that's not good because you can't digest them well green unless you cook them. Oh well, people don't listen lol

Hahah! Ya for sure, and I think sometimes people think the spots mean it's going bad.... but it's getting just right 😄

I basically just wanted to show off my bananas and it turned into this organic speech. I hope you enjoyed.

Well, it worked, haha. I almost expected Gladiator at the end asking if we were entertained?

Hi @full-measure I've published a post about you, check it out if you can, thanks.

32 Best Steemit Blogger Of The Day To Follow 27th July 2017

https://steemit.com/steemit/@jzeek/32-best-steemit-blogger-of-the-day-to-follow-27th-july-2017

Interesting lol. Looked and voted, well played

dude the spotty ones are always the best! I don't know how people eat them when they are green!! ;P

You stay makin me hungry @full-measure! hahahaa!
Yes the bananas that have freckles on them are the best! :P
I bet you're a great cook :D

Banana frecklessss 😁

Ya I'm pretty good imo! lol. I'm not gonna end up on a cooking show or anything like that xP but I'm decent at making yummy little things I would say hehe

A cooking show hahaha! :D

@full-measure this is such a trigger topic! I love how some people get up in arms over their preference of green vs ripe bananas. I am totally in agreement with you, though, on the perfect ripeness!

Haha ya :) I prefer them really ripe but slipping in a green banana here and there seems to have some benefits too ::shrugs::

Your bananas got my vote :) I love it when they are like that.

Hehe thanks man, ya I looked at them in the morning and I was like ooo so pretty lol

Yes man the bananas with that dark points has a best flavor and more carbohydrates the dish you made looks super tasty :)

I ate tf out of that veggie burger!!! lol

I love ripe brown spotted bananas!!! ♥

Bannananannannanas ftw :D

Congratulations @full-measure! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57