Anything Is Possible: A story of the buffalo chickpea dip

in #food6 years ago (edited)

The baby shower would begin shortly, and the avocado mac and cheese was tucked away and sitting on the chair.

In addition to that, I'm known for being able to make a buffalo chickpea dip.

Basically what you do is you fill a blender with a can of great northern beans, some cashews, seasonings, nutritional yeast, and a good amount of Frank's red hot.

And you blend it wroo000ooosh-roooosh-wrooooosshhhhhh-ro00oo00oooo000oooo00oo00oo-wwrrrroo00000ooosshhhh

You pour chickpeas into the mixture, stir it around, and top it with non-dairy cheddar. Then bake.

Whether I'd make it would depend what time I rolled out of bed and how everything was going with the mac and cheese.

Time was on my side, but the bigger problem was this:

Some days ago, that bottle of Beefeater fell and landed square on the blender. The blender top shattered, and the Beefeater remained.

I still had a working blender -- I had the blade that does the blending -- but not a top part.

Heroically, I used a soda bottle.


I cut a hole in the top part of the bottle to fit on top of the blade, and then a hole in bottom of the bottle to open it up.

It was really satisfying. I wasn't sure it would work but it was still satisfying, just to see the soda bottle on top like that and imagine it maybe working.


I added the components (note: liquid poured last), and then the moment came to press the button and blend it.

The physics of it were essentially like having a real blender top, but it still seemed like this just shouldn't be a thing that works.

But it worked!

It wasn't easy, but it worked. I mean blending this stuff is never easy because it's like a $20 blender and not really meant for food processing, and I think it probably helps to soak and soften the cashews first but I blend them straight up, like a boss. So it's always a battle. But the thing about the soda bottle was, the bottle twists. That's what separated it from a real blender top. So I had to hold it in place as I battled.

After I removed the piece of the blender, that's pretty much how it's supposed to look. That's good enough.

The people wanted the buffalo dip, and there it is. (There's the puree portion of it anyways. The rest is trivial.)

I like to cook and season the chickpeas before I incorporate them.

I'm not sure why. I guess I like them to be inherently good rather than need to be carried by everything else.

You can squish some of the chickpeas if you want that texture. If you're observant you'll notice that I added some shreds of cheddar to stir into the mixture with the chickpeas.

Then I topped it with cheddar and with some fresh oregano from the deck.

And nobody would guess that this was made using a Sunkist bottle!

If you do the math, I think life is something like 8% luck, 2% skill, and 90% how hard you try.

I believe the great Tom Brady would tell us that you can't control your skill or luck, but you can control your level of effort.

Sort:  

Heroically, I used a soda bottle.

😂 your creativity really amazes me. I would throw out the broken top blender and buy a new one. Why? Because I don’t have coke bottle at home lol.

Why? Because I don’t have coke bottle at home lol.

hahahaha

such a strong reply :p

good luck in the games today!

Same to you! You know we are in two leagues, do you? It’s fun!

Ya! I'm kind of only in the other league as a technicality 😲. I signed up.. then realized I couldn't draft, but then the league was locked and I couldn't unregister.

I asked mawit to delete me if there was anyone else who wanted to play and he was like oh it's okay if you can't draft, just set your lineups.

😑

I didn't want to insist he delete me if it might be hard to find a replacement, so ya, I'm in there but it was auto-drafted (I did pre-rank my players a little tho)

Looks like I have a puncher's chance but that you'll probably edge me out tonite!!

Take the night off tonite, Tate :p

Awesome.

I find the oregano interesting, not something I'd normally mix with buffalo flavor

haha ya, I'm probably a sucker for using fresh herbs and could use them where they don't necessarily need to be there. I think this was good, but it's hard to say.

I may have been a little heavy handed with the thyme in the main portion of the dish.

I think recipes often call for dill.

(I wasn't in a recipe sort of mood.)

Wow. That's some mcgyver shit right there

yaaaa, right on! :p

Oh man, McGwyver cuisine! That was clever what you did and the finished product looks very inviting. I will try that on my next football Sunday get together.

That's awesome!! I think people will love it, even meat eaters. You should be able to google plenty of recipes, if you want the exact ingredients and amounts and stuff.

I like it with Tostitos, celery is good too.

Oh no, my vp is down to 1 cent. Crap, I need to cool down for a couple days. Been voting crazy.

Anywho, love celery. I was thinking pita chips would go well with your dip too.

Are you ready for some football!!!! I am so excited for kick off today. I placed 4 small str8 up bets with betgames last night. Have you heard of them? And also, are you into SteemMonsters? Would love to hear your take of them.

😲😲

I feel very stimulated by that post. Haven't heard of betgames, will look it up. It's good? So many shenanigans and things lately, lol.

I haven't gotten into SteemMonsters yet. Really fun idea and I like things like that. Don't know enough to have a good opinion. As far as hodling/investing them goes, my worry would be that there's nothing too special about it and there can be more or better similar things. Like SteemNakedLadies becomes the new game. But as far as actually playing the game, seems really cool from what little I know! What do you think about them?

I just found betgames last night and placed 4 bets of 2 Steem each for Pitt, NE, GB, and LAR to win str8 up. Let’s see how fast they pay. What attracted me was if I loose, I will get it back in upvotes over time.
Here is the link: https://steemit.com/football/@betgames/nfl-betting-bet-using-sbd-or-steem-and-earn-sbd-if-you-lose-get-free-upvotes

In regards to SteemMonsters. I have adopted it and have invested in it. I pledged to their kickstarter. I met the co-founder Yabapmatt at a STEEM meetup several times prior to him developing SteemMonsters. I also am friends with DaveMccoy who is a champion of SteemMonsters. I have trust that they will development a decent product, but my concern right now is that the pool of folk that are interested and highly invested are a small group. I am in it to flip cards for a profit. I might save my set to rent out if it becomes more popular. I know they will go down the road where people need to keep buying to keep playing and I don’t like that model. In fact I hate that model in the gaming industry. Money and grees spoils all good things. Grrr.

That's awesome!!! Gonna check out betgames for sure. SteemMonsters.. will take longer to get the hang of :p

Thanks.

Don’t dive into betgames like I did. I just clarified some details about how to bet with them today. If you join their discord and search my name, read the entire conversation and you will have an in-depth understanding of risk vs reward. My 2 Steem (or 1.6 sbd) bet in NE won only 0.24 sbd. Had I known that was the pot, I would not have made that bet. So how they work is they take everyone’s bets and take 5% juice and 5% for bonus payout. So if 2 bets on HOU for 1 sbd each, and 5 bets on NE for 1 each. NE won so the 5 people on NE side split the 2 sbd of the losing HOU side minus 10% which comes out to be 0.36 sbd each. The size of your bet and number of betters on the winning side determine the proportion of your split. I hope I am making sense. I fear I am not since it is pretty late here.

ohhh no it makes perfect sense, if I'm following correctly, I know what you mean. It's what steemsports used to do. Everyone just picks a side and however much money is bet on a side determines the odds and the payouts you get.

awful way to do it, lol. either you don't know what odds you're getting (and theoretically the people running it would be able to have an advantage, by knowing where the bets are placed and then they could know when to play a certain side). or if everyone can see who bets what, then it's just awkward, like you should never bet early, you just wait and try to buy it last second when you know it would give you odds you like.

I'm not trying to rag on it, I imagine it's for fun and not big bucks and all that, I get it. It seems fun and I'll def check it out. I just mean in a pure gambling sense I don't like that format. Thanks for the heads up.

Wait a minute, is there such a thing as SteemNakedLadies, 😂?

nooope, not yet, not that I know of..

If I knew how to code or whatever there'd be all sorts of stuff, SteemNakedLadies, SteemNakedHotGuys, dogs, cats, rabbits.. let's have it all.

Lol, I wish I knew how to code as well. I will start to learn python soon. I can write sql queries but tiny java script snippet, but not true coding. At least not yet. Being on Steemit has increased my desire to learn to code. I have few ideas I would like to build.

and ya, pita chips would work for sure. good idea.

When we're working and our equipment is broken it's not fun, so when we have the skills to improve it, it's something very good.
Like @full-measure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78