A Whole Adventure 🚵

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I'm annoyed that my local Whole Foods here in Nashua doesn't carry frozen vegan kung pao chicken from Vegetarian Plus, which is the greatest mock meat product out there.

In Las Vegas they have it, but not here. Sometimes I'll eat it poured over dairy-free mac n cheez and just go to heaven for the day.

So I took a bike ride up to Bedford NH, about 12-15 miles from here (need to widen my range so the paparazzi can't triangulate to exactly where I live if I make several posts with mileage in them), to walk the aisles of a different Whole Foods location, but to my chagrin they didn't have it either.

If I try another store, I should probably cross the border into Massachusetts and hope they have a different algorithm or whatever than the NH stores.

(I know I could call first, but that's annoying, I like just going there.)

I took a consolation prize for my trouble:

A slice of vegan pizza. 🍕

And it was realllly good. They were generous with the cheez.

I've had vegan slices before where they give you that thin layer, almost like a "suggestion" of there being cheese on it, like "ok vegan, there, that work?", like you can feel the grind and the hustle of them reaching for a certain profit margin and it just doesn't deliver on the pizza experience.

It makes some sense that Whole Foods would deliver, because if they get a vegan through the doors then we buy their other fancy things. (Whereas a pizza shop has to realize their profit on the pizza itself.)

I topped it with basil and nutritional yeast and Old Bay and spicy paprika, or something along those lines. It probably didn't need the Old Bay.

One criticism tho, I could do without the peppers. If they cooked them down it would be one thing, but I don't need the thick, crunchy "oh hi, I'm a pepper" type of moments buggin' out at me while I'm trying to eat a pizza. Tomato 🍅 slices in lieu of the pepper would be good; I'd rather have one smooth texture.

I was able to get a seat where I could see my bike while I ate, which is always comforting. After you've had a bike stolen before, you like to be able to see it.

My bike doesn't go on the little rack that they provide. Too cool for that, obv.

The bike rack can technically be picked up and carried away, whereas the railing can't. So however unlikely it is that someone would do that, the crypto nerd in me sees no reason to use the less secure option.

Plus often times railings actually work better than the things that are supposed to be bike racks, in terms of it being easy to attach your bike and stand it up straight. A railing like this is perfect.

Like a row of zombies we eat our food as individuals while we engage with our device.

I don't blame them, I do the same thing.

But this has to look pretty bizarre to the aliens, no?

Old people would tell you technology is the problem, but actually no, it's the solution.

Now with blockchains and peer-to-peer protocol we'll be able to use our gadgets to better organize into more voluntarily chosen communities of people who like each other and want to talk to each other.

Sort:  

vegan pizza for the win!!! ;)

Pretty much no way to beat it lol

"Oh hi, I'm a pepper." Lol. 😄

What exactly is nutritional yeast?

Interesting. The b vitamin values coupled with a cheesy flavor sound great. Sounds like it tastes better than brewers yeast.

Vegan pizza is da best :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63459.73
ETH 2599.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78