Might as well stay home!

in #food6 years ago

Restaurant Iberica- described as a Mexican Tapas Restaurant in the heart of busy Downtown Montreal, Quebec.

Address:
1450 Peel (4.27 mi)
Montreal, Quebec H3A 1S8

Iberica.jpg

As I walked into the Restaurant I was expecting great things- the decor was very chic and warm. The small 2 floor restaurant is very intimate in size- busy and loud we were seated on the second floor over seeing the main floor and kitchen area.

We were a group of 8 and each of us ordered a combination of entrees and mains.
I had the Calamari and my boyfriend had the shrimp. My dish was very disappointing to say the least, this sparsely decorated dish was underwhelming- a black link in the middle of an oversized round dinner plate with 4 Calamari and 2 cut grapes a sprinkle of green baby basil and a drop of orange dip. Over salted and completely unsatisfying. For 14$ I was completely disappointing.

The shrimp was a different story completely. Served in a rustic metal dish- 4 big shrimp in a thick sauce with chunks of crusty bread in complete contrast to the Calamari dish! It was very tasty but again for 16$ I expected more.

Shrimp.jpg

There also seems to be a disconnect between the dishes in that one was served as a high end "foofoo" fancy, dish with its artsy decor and plating where as the shrimp was rustic home cooking.

Next I ordered the Paella and my boyfriend ordered the Suckling Pig.

My Paella came cold and very salty- now it may sound like I'm being picky but those who know my I love salt but this was over done. In addition, the rice was under cooked and crunchy as well as burnt & stuck to the bottom of the dish it was served in. Although in the picture below it looks like a good size portion it is rather small.

Paella.jpg

As I couldn't eat my dish they offered to replace it with something else- I decided that I just wanted a green salad- how can you mess this up right?.... Well be careful what you wonder about sometimes! I got a side dish of greens in pure lemon juice- it was so tart that I got acid reflex instantly. Suffice it to say I did not eat.

My boyfriends pork was cold, though according to him tasty- he just wished it was hot.... The sides, mash potatoes, rapini and cauliflower were tiny and also very salty.

We did have wine, no coffee, no dessert and when all was said and done we were handed a bill of 170.85$...

Considering they didn't charge my Paella nor my salad I find this expensive. Especially when I deduct the wine of $50.

$120 for 1 unsatisfied person.....

Final Thoughts: Save your money and find a better Restaurant.

Sort:  

Congratulations @fubzy112! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @fubzy112! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64278.56
ETH 3504.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54