Classic Jelly Donuts Recipe by FromAboveHeaven

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Easy and fast recipe for the perfect Jelly Donut

2017-09-30 1.JPG

Introduction:

Donuts. Everyone I know loves them and I myself am no exception to that. However here in Germany they aren't always easy to find or cheap enough to justify buying them on a regular basis. So when I once in a while get the urge to eat them. I just do them myself at home.
And after doing them a couple of times I now don't even enjoy buying them anymore, because making them yourself and eating them fresh really is just so much better than those already 6 hour old donuts you can buy in the store. So after doing Jelly Donuts myself about a dozen times now, here is how you can do them yourself.

Preparation:

So Jelly Donuts aren't actually difficult and so don't really need any prior preparations.
However here are some items which you should definitely have in your kitchen:

  • A Deep Fryer or large pot
  • A piping bag with a long tip / Food syringe (for the filling)
  • A weighing scale (for metric measurements)

Ingredients:

For the Dough:
  • 230g Plain flour / all purpose flour
  • 140g Milk (on room temperature)
  • 7g Active dry yeast
  • 25g Butter (on room temperature)
  • 20g Fine sugar
  • 1 Egg (~60g with shell)
  • A pinch of salt (~2g)
Oil for frying

For the filling:

About 200g of jam

For the Glaze:
Sugar coating:
  • ~250g Sugar (depending on your bowl size)
  • ~5g Vanille sugar
    ~ A pinch of Salt
Classic Glaze
  • ~200g Powdered sugar
  • A jet of vanilla essence
  • Some milk

Instructions

  • Microwave your jam for about 1 1/2 minutes and sift it through a sieve so only smooth jam is left. Set aside and let it coold down.
  • Put all the ingredients for your dough in to a mixing bowl (flour, milk, yeast, butter, fine sugar, salt, egg)
  • With a dough hook, mix your ingredients for about 1 minute on the lowest speed (1 knot).
  • After 1 minute, increase the speed to 2 knots and let it mix for about 10 to 12 minutes
  • After ~10 minutes your dough should be smooth and ready. To make sure you can take some dough and try to spread it with your fingers, kinda like this. If you can see light through it and it wont stick to your fingers anymore its good.
  • Form the dough in to a ball and place in a greased bowl. Cover the bowl and let the dough rise in a warm place for about 1 hour or until double in size.
  • Take your dough and place it on a surface that is lightly covered with flour and start rolling out your dough to a thickness of about 1/2 Inch or ~1.25cm .
  • After you rolled out your dough,its time to cut out your donuts. For this you can either use a jelly donut cutter if you have one or do it like me and just use a glass or something similar. Note: I usually use a glass with a diameter of 8 cm / ~3 inch
  • After cutting them out they have to rise again. So place them on a sheet and let them rise in a warm place for another 20 mins or until they rose about 40-50%.
  • After they rose they are now ready to get fried. Fry the donuts on 160°C / 320°F until they reached their desired color. (~2min)
  • The jelly donuts are as good as done now. Let them cool down a bit fill them with jam and coat them in sugar. To do that simply take a straw, your pipping bag or syringe, fill it with jam and then fill the donut with jam. And lastly toss it in a bowl with sugar to coat it.


Footer

Its a really simple recipe that should yield you about 5 Jelly Donuts.

And with that my first post and recipe for steemit and its community has been done, i hope i don't have to many gramma errors please be lenient with me english is my 3 language.
I hope you enjoy it and do let me know if you want more recipes and what i could to better the next time, i'm thinking about writing a more detailed recipe about classic donuts next.

Here are some teaser pics:
DSCN5261.JPG

DSCN5832.JPG

-FromAboveHeaven

Sort:  

So, when do you arrive? Hurry I'm hungry

I'm afraid none are left :P But I will bring you some next time I do some.

Yummy. I love those sweets. I try to have them not too often. :-)
You are part of my "Food By Red Fish" post. Check it out.

Wow tanks alot i will check it out!
Greatly appreciate it.

You are welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57207.57
ETH 2995.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26