The sweet escapes of the French Londoner - episode 1 - 86 Champs

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I have a very sweet tooth. Quite logical for a woman whose first name is the one of a cake! I also love to share experiences with people. It then came as an evidence that I was to share my culinary adventures with my fellow Steemians (you're welcome). So I decided to create a series of posts about lovely edible experiences I allow myself to have as part of my productivity ritual (which I shall share to you in another post very soon).

And for the first episode ever I take you with me to the Champs Elysées to test the newly opened 86 Champs concept store or when the best pastry chef in the world (most probably) meets the unique essences of Provence. Ready to roll? Fabulous, let's go then. :)

Pic by Me

86 Champs - Pierre Hermé Rose Raspberry and Litchi Madeleine. Pic by @frenchlondoner

The story takes place on a saturday afternoon, just after a Reiki session when I needed some time and a place to think. Every week I take time to reflect on my life, my goals, my wishes and dreams so I can go through week after week with passion and commitment to myself. Then I was walking down the Champs Elysées as I do regularly, to remind myself of the luck I have in my life, and was searching for a place to settle for a couple of hours and write my journal, feeling good, inspired and surrounded by beautiful things.

The Champs-Elysées, the most beautiful avenue in the world some say. I don’t really agree with this statement, but why not, after all, we’re in Paris, and that is something beautiful in itself (And this avenue is magnificent, I give the French that!). Through my walk, I stumbled upon this front window full of light and flowers, I knew then I had found the perfect place for my mind to settle and rest.

The setting

A leafy and welcoming terrasse bathed with smooth light had me coming into this shop where all my senses awoke at once. Beauty products revolved around the “sweet heart” of this place where Pierre Hermé invites us to discover some of the best patisseries you will ever have, and its famous macaroons, of course.

Pic by Me

86 Champs. Pic by @frenchlondoner

The most impressive feature of this place beside the marble fountain or the mural fresques and ceramics are this dreamy lighting feature composed of 1000 handmade glass balloons, forever changing the mood throughout the day. This masterpiece was put together by Laura Gonzalez, renowned architect, to showcase the love Pierre Hermé and l’Occitane en Provence have for the same products, providing a luxurious experience both olfactive and tasty.

The food

Once I was sad down at the bar by the most welcoming staff, I couldn’t take my eyes of the patisserie windows where the most colourful cakes were presented like jewels. The chef patissier (a lovely lady), made my dessert right before my eyes, and I kept observing her while the orders were coming through, from chocolate melting spheres to sparkling operas. In an instant, I had the Pierre Hermé Vanilla Millefeuille I ordered in front of me, served on bespoke Guy Degrenne china. That’s when I knew this place was going to become one of my favorite spot in the capital.

Pic by Me

86 Champs - Pierre Hermé Vanilla Millefeuille. Pic by @frenchlondoner

This environment has set in me a little adventurous vibe, so I decided to try for the first time a Matcha Cappuccino. When this lovely green late like drink reached my sight, I was absolutely delighted by its incredible colour (Oh my gosh, I’m drinking some green thing!) as well as the taste of it. Being a tea drinker (Once a Londoner, always a Tea drinker!!!), it was really a match made in heaven.

IMG-1206.JPG

86 Champs - Pierre Hermé Vanilla Millefeuille and Matcha Cappuccino. Pic by @frenchlondoner

The cherry on the cake, was actually a madeleine! The pastry chef with whom I discussed a bit with offered me a madeleine. And what a madeleine that was! I never had tasted anything like this before. Just the perfect balance of flavours, lightness, and deliciousness. Not only it was the best madeleine I ever ate, but it even topped the amazing culinary experience I just had. I felt grateful, so grateful, to be here, right now.

To conclude

Take time to enjoy things, little things. Even if the experience is not cheap money wise and it isn't something I would indulge for everyday, I relish the memory of it like a priceless treasure.
Take time for yourself, alone, and experiment. Try new things out, and some of them will turn out to be the sweetest experiences ever.

And if you like this post, comment, vote and resteem it! Share the love, it's what Steemit is all about after all! I look forward to read you all.

Until next time.

The French Londoner.

Sort:  

Real art .. Good to share
The place looks great .. like a museum of sweet
good job

tasty and healthy… nice!))

Sweet! Very nice, the food looks tasty

Thanks a lot @gvincentjisephm. It was delicious indeed.

Feeling shared makes me benefit greatly.

i like the your post, i am resteem and upvote for your post,,,
thank you

wow... I want to try it. So beautiful !

Beautiful and tasty ;) thanks @sci402

Wow. so beautiful your art i like your post. i wait for your next post carry on your life . all the best @steemit.love.you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05