Tales of Nespresso ~ A story of love, loss and joy!

in #food5 years ago (edited)


So here's the skinny. We're visiting my parents in Ohio. After my Dad went on a business to trip to Europe and became incredibly spoiled by their espresso machines, he deemed American coffee, and I quote...

The Coors Lite of coffee. It's for somebody who doesn't like coffee.

He spent a short, but agonizing few weeks back in the States drinking "knock-off" coffee, until he found a Nespresso machine at a great price, and now he's never looking back!


So, here's the problem...the hubs and I kicked the coffee habit about a year ago due to caffeine. We love a good cup of foffee (faux coffee made from grains), and had thought a bit about decaf, pending on the process in which it was decaffeinated.

I really wanted to try out his new joy, but I knew I couldn't drink caffeine without some serious side effects. Then the miraculous happened, the decaf espresso pods for his Nespresso machine were made through a water process! No crazy chemicals involved!

My first cup changed my life...my second cup shaped my reality...my third cup...

But that third cup never came...we had run out! My dad had warned me we were running low, I must have been in denial. Fortunately, a few days before, he had fervently ordered more...but it was not in time for my morning brew. It was then that we realized we could use the tracking number from the package to locate the pods, and I nearly cried out with joy as we find out they were only a few towns away! They would arrive sometime that afternoon!

But my need for a warm mug in my hand only grew worse. I ambled about the kitchen looking for some sort of hot beverage to drink. Tea felt like an insult to my taste buds. Then I spotted my homemade hot chocolate mix...it would work, it would have to work.

It cushioned my early morning hours, but then the withdraw began...

Sometime after this, I must have blacked out.

I awoke to the sound of the door opening, and my hero holding a bag! Not only had they delivered it, but they had saved them from the rain. The sky had been crying with me.

I quickly grabbed my favorite mug, ripped open a box and pressed start! Within a few minutes, the kitchen was filled with an intoxicating aroma, and my mouth watered.

I had also treated myself to a little dairy free creamer!

I would say that I've learned from this experience...that I would be able to control myself, but sometimes I stay up at night worrying how long this next batch of 40 pods will last...


Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Love that story Stacy D. I feel that same way but with bold, dark coffee. I’m sure if I tried the Nespresso that I’d need to order a machine for our home. Have a blessed new year with your family 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha you would for sure! I'm currently drinking another cup! 😋 And thank you...I hope this year is full of joy for you!

Oh, love my morning coffee. Needs to be full up, and full strength. I've had Nespresso but have avoided buying one... so - wonder if it's time to reconsider?

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha I think it's time too! It is so rich and creamy!

That really made me laugh! I've never developed a taste for coffee, but I love the aroma of a coffeepot brewing away.

Haha I'm so glad it made you laugh! My mom doesn't like it either, but also loves the smell...except the espresso...she says it smells like burnt tuna! 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85