Chia Seed the World!

in #food6 years ago

,


This is a conversation I just had with my child. It went as follows...

Inventor: "Do I have to eat chia seeds with my cereal this morning?"

Me: "Think about it like this. If I were old and elderly and you were in charge of my care and well-being, wouldn't you want me to eat something that would help my brain to keep firing and me bowels to keep moving?"

Inventor: "I think that if you made it to old and elderly I would want you to be able to eat whatever you want and go out with bang!"

Alright, so it's clear to me that not all the members of my family are on board with these little balls of nutrition, and that's okay. There was a time a few years ago where that same kid didn't like avocadoes, and now I can't feed them to him enough! It might just take time.

But I do know that the Yeti and I love them. It's mostly because we know the huge benefits they can give to our bodies. They are full of omega-3 fatty acids that help our brains. They support heart health, and keep you fuller longer. The list is actually pretty lengthy. So yesterday I had a big bowl of granola with almond milk, a tablespoon of chia seeds with a banana and blueberries! It was delicious!


I also throw them into baked goods and pancakes. It really helps determine how many pancakes I need to make. If I add chia seeds, we only eat half of what I normally make! It's really satisfying watching the kids rub their bellies and tell me they can't fit another one in.

I'm also experimenting with other recipes like chia seed pudding. There hasn't been one that I'm really excited about yet, so if you have something good please leave it in the comments!

Hope you all are having a wonderful day!!

Sort:  

Nice article really appreciated (:
it seems like u are a real foodie. Isn't it?

Haha I don't know about a real foodie, as much as I just really like to eat! Hope you are having a great day!

Have you tried popping them on a hot surface?

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha no...what happens??

Ha ha ha! I love the Inventor's logic!

I once made the mistake of adding chia seeds to a smoothie, which then became a not-so-smoothie, and most of them stuck to the blender. Live and learn!

Haha, that's great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60676.09
ETH 2903.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46