Autumn is Coming ~ Pumpkin Love

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2650.JPG
Autumn is absolutely, hands down, my FAVORITE season! The smell of winter on it's way brings us cooler weather, colorful scenery, and amazing food. This week I had the pleasure of processing one of my favorite Autumn foods. PUMPKINS!!

IMG_2649.JPG
I had pumpkin vines growing everywhere but only ended up with four due to the mighty arm of the armadillo clan.. They ravaged my pumpkins, cantaloupe, watermelon, and Santa Clause melons. Next year I think I may put an electric fence around the whole thing!

IMG_2663.JPG
We ended up with 14 quarts of cubed pumpkin, two delicious pints of pumpkin butter, cinnamon sugar pumpkin seeds, and two scrumptious pies (one didn't make it for the picture). ;) I couldn't be happier to indulge in my love of Autumn so early AND have plenty for more yummy-goodness in my pantry for later.

What is YOUR favorite season? What do you enjoy most about Autumn?
Let me know in the comments!! <3

Sort:  

oh yum! We love using pumpkins in the Fall for so many things too :)

They're the BEST!! :D

We are still in the middle of our summer, it is crazy to think people in other parts of the country are already harvesting pumpkins!
This is a beautiful post Amanda and all your goodies look marvelous. If I get any pumpkin this year, I just might can it, I have frozen my previous batches after pureeing them first but I know when canning pumpkin you do have to cube like you did.

Thanks Heidi! Seasons and geography amaze me too! Our Creator is a genius! :D

I was actually torn between which way to preserve it.. Freezing is easier, both now and later, but I've decided not to freeze anything I can reasonably dry or can in case of power outage. :)

Looks delicious!!

I also like autumn, but I like spring more(^^♪

Thank you! Spring is always an ever welcome friend after winter! :)

Pumpkin with coconut soup is my favorite dish. I'm from a tropical country in Asia so we really don't have autumn. Happy weekend! :)

That sounds wonderful! We love pumpkin AND coconut! Happy Weekend to you too! :D

@freedomacres any chance for recipes using pumpkin? I only have pumpkin bread and pies. Would love to have more as I then would have a reason to grow them. I get at least 1 each autumn to put on my front porch as part of harvest decorations. Would love to have something else to do with them. Thanks,

Autumn!!!!! Cool crisp air, cozy warm sweaters, falling leaves, pumpkin spice lattes, thanksgiving dinner..... ❤️

My favorite season is definately summer! I love long, warm summer nights <3

Springtime is my most favourite season but Autumn comes second for me here in Australia. Enjoy your Fall and all the great things that go with the season. Following.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61787.88
ETH 2991.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48