Shakshuka - Easy recipe

in #food6 years ago

Hey Steemian,

You probably know about shakshuka, it's very popular, at least in Romania. It's a perfect dish for lazy mornings, lunches, dinner, brunches.
Some years ago, when I saw this recipe at Nigella's, I thought it was too complicated for me to cook it.
Such a child!

IMG_20171127_180119.jpg

Of course, I simplified a lot this recipe, but the taste is amazingly delicious.

You will need:
1 tomatoes cann
Tomato juice
chickpeas
onion chopped
garlic chopped
chilli
2 eggs
goat cheese
olive oil
salt and pepper
parsley to garnish

  1. First make the tomato sauce: in a frying pan, add olive oil, onion and garlic and let it cook for 10 minutes, on medium heat. Add the tomatoes and tomato juice, chilli and boil for 10 minutes.
  2. Add the chickpeas and boil for another 5 minutes.
  3. Now, crack eggs over sauce. Cover skillet and cook until yolks are just set, about 5 minutes. When I have time, I bake the eggs.
  4. Sprinkle goat cheese and parsley.
  5. Let it cool for 7 minutes, if you are patient!

I'm not :)
So, have you tried shakshuka before? Do you like it?

Yours,
FoxxyCat

Sort:  

great recipe i like it good choice of ingredients not very expensive! thank you

I love Shakshuka! A great way to use up eggs!

lovely good :) we know this meal as " şakşuka " in Turkey.

Also, In Romanian. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66824.20
ETH 3503.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62