Roasted Eggplants Salad - Romanian recipe

in #food7 years ago

Here, in Romania, if you say summer, you say roasted eggplants, tomatoes and onion salad with cheese and roasted peppers.
You can have them all as your meal. They go perfectly together and you can enjoy the whole tastefulness that summer offers.

21035105_10156588476038275_868857462_o.jpg

Shame on me but I have started eating this delicious salad only a few years ago. But why? Why? I'm still wondering. I love the smell of the roasted eggplants and sometimes, I even envy my neighbors who grill them...and I am kind of out of stock...
And I am always saved by my superhero, my grandma, who sends me over some roasted eggplants, frozen especially for me.

The recipe is quite simple.
Ingredients:
1 eggplant roasted
1 onion minced
olive oil
salt and pepper

  1. Roast the eggplant, as you wish or as you can. In the oven, on a hot stove, on a BBQ. If you roast in the oven, do not forget to poke it with the fork, it might explode! BOOM!
  2. Peel it and chop it finely. With a wooden spoon, mix it with onion, salt and pepper. Add olive oil, mixing continuously.

I like this salad with cheese and tomatoes.

What a way to treat myself!

Hope you'll enjoy,
FoxxyCat

Sort:  

Yes yes yes!!! haha Looks awesome. Got to do this. Though I have not seen aubergine in Costa Rica thus far!
Resteemed and upvoted!

The only place that I found eggplant when I lived in Costa Rica was in San Rafael de Heredia at the Sunday farmers' market. It was a small market but lots of fresh fruits and veggies.

such a pity :( hope you'll find some eggplants in Costa Rica. They are great!
thanks for your appreciation

looks delicious ...

Looks really good. I can't wait until mine are ready. Another week should do it, then I too shall have my roasted eggplant salad.

enjoy. :) i can't wait to make another salad, but my grandma forgot to send supplies :D

thanks for u food

thank for u recipes

Very nice photos, how you take such a beautiful photo, perfect wow, this is a very tasty food, inspiring my taste, so I'm hungry, the dish is food and you take it thoroughly and make a very beautiful picture in the eye, Suitable food served for big and perfect events to taste, good post and success for you.

thanks, you too. :)

Oh yes I love simple recipes! I will try this out @foxxycat, thank you!

Simple and delicious :)

Very nice! This dish looks so healthful and delicious. I helps that i love eggplants. I make it just like you do. Only I usually add some chopped fresh oregano or other herb.

It seems like a good idea to use oregano..i will try for sure. Another version is to add mayo, but i'm not into it :)

Thank you for the post! We have so many eggplants in our garden right now, and my husband (Collins) family is from Romania...will have to make this and surprise him!

Hahaha, so nice of you. :)

Hi i like your post upvoted your post hope you will like my posts and will upvote my posts as your true follower

This actually is a traditional Bulgarian dish. It can be eaten at moment of preparation or stacked into jars for the winter!

Are you sure? :P I don t argue you, Bulgarians and Romanians have a lot in common :)

Definitely! And we do have a lot in common! :D

Eggplants are my favourite vegetable of all time. But they have to prepared the right way. This looks like they have a great texture. :) Thanks for sharing this one @foxxycat!

I know what you are saying about the texture. :) Once, i failed completely, because i hadn't enough patience

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83