A classic Romanian dessert - Semolina Pudding

in #food6 years ago

Hey Steemian,

One of my favorite childhood dessert was semolina pudding, it’s kind of a porridge, but instead of oats you use semolina.
This dessert was very popular when I was a child. One of my guilty pleasure is that when I’m going home to eat this pudding, made my grandma. And as a bonus, she makes it with caramelized sugar!

67DA6B31-10E6-4CD3-B117-471C25317FC5.jpeg

Ingredients
100 g semolina
450 ml milk
50 g -70 g sugar
A pinch of salt

Sour cherry jam to serve

Bring to boil semolina and milk, stirring continuosly. Add the sugar and keep stirring until the liquid is absorbed.
Damp some bowls or cups and pour the pudding into.
Leave them to cool for 1 hour.
Serve it with sour cherry jam and lots of cinammon. Also, it’s very tasty warm!

What about you? What’s your favorite childhood dessert?

Yours,
FoxxyCat

Sort:  

looks so awesome! thanks for sharing! i will start following your exciting posts!

Never heard of semolina before. Looks cool though. I do an almost similar guilty pleasure with corn flour and add chocolate powder to it =)

Looks delicious @foxxycat , nothing like food made by your own family... In my case, there is a cake called "3 leches " what means "3 milks", it's made with evaporated milk, condensed milk and milk cream ... Is very sweet and if you eat too much you might want to give it a break for a while, excepting me of course I clearly don't have limits when it comes to eating that cake hahaha. Anyways, the best wishes! Upvoted, greetings from Venezuela :)

I’m not sure that i can find evaporated milk in Romania, but I’m sure it’s delicious this “3 milks”, though too sweet. thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86