Oh Bar! Food food food! Sydney Travels

in #food7 years ago

I had the best Thai food experience today at Oh Bar in Sydney. I had sour, sweet, bitter and salty all in a five course lunch deal. We ate at this place called Oh Bar in Sydney. Their website here.


Check out where we have been and other Steemit travel bugs at Steemit World Map !steemitworldmap -33.877028 lat 151.211614 long Oh Bar Thai Restaurant d3scr

Let's get into what we ate today while it's still fresh in my head and my taste buds.
2144.jpg
First is this entree, deep fried fish with shaved chili and served with sweet sauce. I seriously don't know what's in that sauce but the sweetness was subtle.

Then I had these 2nd entree.
2145.jpg
It had dried garlic, raw onions, fish roe and coriander on top. Betel leaf at the bottom and sandwiched in between is a cooked prawn. This dish was also great. The prawn was paired well with the pungent raw onion, garlic and some freshness provided by the betel leaf and coriander. Add a hint of chili and boom! Pow! WOW!

The mains came out few minutes later, giving me time to savor all the flavors my taste buds just experienced.
2146.jpg
The dish is a salad with deep fried crab. The crab was so brittle, crunchy and packs with flavor. The bed of salad was spicy hot! I thought I could take hot spice but this takes it to another level. The paw paw salad was mixed in fish sauce, nuts, snake beans, shallots, chili, chili, chili seeds and more chili.

Next dish didn't really give my tongue a break from the lashings it took from those chili as it was also spiced heavily.
2147.jpg
The curry had duck for protein mixed with coconut milk for some creaminess. It had lychee and pineapple for some sweetness. The steam rice came out right after I took a spoonful of the curry which helped calm my taste buds down.

The next dish reminds me of Philippines' deep fried pork. It's a pork belly which has more fat than meat and the skin was also left on.
2149.jpg
It was crispy, salty, oily and bit of salad on the side helped with all that fattiness. I didn't even need the sauce that it came out with. This was my favorite out of all the dishes. This one was a GREAT break from all those spice!

And now my favorite part of a set course meal, dessert time! Was looking forward to this because of the spice work my tongue had to endure.
2150.jpg
In this huge plate, we have a black rice pudding on a banana leaf, topped with shaved coconut, its taste was very neutral and subtle. There is a vanilla ice cream with fresh mint on top. On the side are salted boiled corn. I ate them on its own to see how they tasted and it was just OK. Eat them all together and you will get the freshness of the mint, the sweetness of the ice cream, the saltiness of that corn, the subtlety of the pudding with the texture of the shaved coconut is a match made in heaven. It was very rustic, sexy and most of all, a flavor bomb of a dessert.

All in all it was a very yummy experience and it only costed us AU$50. Restaurant voucher deals are great. I left with a huge belly and a big smile on my face.


Be your best photographer

Stop using 'auto' mode and master your camera

Make bland photos look amazing with these top secret photography tutorials


©2017 All Rights Reserved @foovler

Sort:  

you made my hungry heheh

Mission accomplished

That place looks very nice. Will take a look at getting there myself sometime

It's nice Thai food but some dish I found expensive.

You shooting at F8? I wonder if you shot down at f4 then focused on the front of the item, and dropped your exposure to -1/3 stop, would that calm those bright lights? Might work better. Where those daytime LEDs? Its always harder with blue light.

tungsten lights, shot in my samsung s7, full auto.

Mmmmm. Look so yummy!

O yes! I want that deep fried pork again.

Great food and looks so delicious that I would like to jump into the restaurant right away ;)))

It was so yummy ms wise. I'd jump with you.

Thanks :)) Would be cool ;)

Congratulations!

This food post has been selected and featured in Qurator's Tasty Tuesday competition! Please follow this link and comment to officially enter and stand a chance to win a Tier 5 Qurator membership!

Good Luck!

Thank you.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=foovler
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=oh-bar-food-food-food-sydney-travels


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Don't mind me I'm just here to help out for a game.

1st Qurite to reply with a Xmas gif wins a gift from Secret Santa!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63148.13
ETH 3109.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51