Best BLT Ever Anywhere

in #food6 years ago (edited)

blt.PNG

Who doesn't love a Bacon, Lettuce and Tomato Sandwich? Here are some life hacks to up your sandwich game.

1.JPG

Dry out your tomato slices. Oh yeah, use as many napkins as you need. Take an hour or two if you have to, cooking is all about planning, time and temperature. Take your tomato slices and lay them down on a napkin. When the napkin is soaked replace and turn the slices over. Repeat until excess moisture is minimized. The flavor will still remain but the dried out tomatoes won't ruin the integrity of your heavenly structure when you bite into it.

2.JPG

Crispy bacon is oven bacon. Line a pan with foil for easy clean up, lay out your bacon single file. Put it into a cold oven and ramp it to 400F. Your bacon will come out crispy anywhere from 18 to 25 minutes later. It all depends on the thickness of the bacon and other factors. Bacon to me should stand up straight like a number two pencil when held up from one end.

3.JPG

Turn the rough side of the bread inside the sandwich. I am a convection oven pro. This is good for sandwich making because when I make toast the top side is much crispier than the bottom side. This is good, I keep the less toasted side of the bread on the outside of the sandwich so it isn't so rough on the mouth.

IMG_0656.JPG

Lettuce first. We aren't eating this sandwich for out health and mayonaisse is essential. I put some on both slices and put the lettuce against the mayo. They just play so well together. Enjoy Steemians! Follow, upvote, comment, you know what to do peeps.

Sort:  

I like the crisscross bacon nice touch

You have the BLT making down to a science. These are really good tips. I especially like the bacon weave you make in the oven. This way we know we are getting the proper amount of bacon with every bite, evenly and consistently. The drying of the tomatoes is brilliant. Nobody likes soggy bread from the excess juice. I use a toaster so both sides of the bread are toasty but I like this concept of only having one side toasted as well. I'm definitely going to give this a try.

Thanks, for the bacon I was just playing around that day, the inside weave wasn't crisp enough and the ends were burned. I guess if it were more uniform and had more time it could work better. Good luck with your writing.

Thanks Very Much! I am enjoying getting back into the whole writing thing. Thanks also for the update on the bacon strategy. It seemed ideal from the way you described it, it also makes for a nice photo. I wonder if the weave was fried rather than baked if it would have an evener crispiness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95