Tawainese foods!?

in #food7 years ago

Sorry Steemit and friends!! I know I've been lacking on posts the last couple of days but it's because I've been transitioning from Texas and going to Pittsburgh while dealing with negative temperatures. I'm now back and will make sure to post daily once again!!

Today I present to you Taiwainese Bistro Cafe 33 dead in the middle of Pittsburgh, this Taiesnese restaurant is a wonderful gem that I was luckily able to discover on a freezing Pennsylvania night. Below are the dishes that I joyfully endulged in during my last visit.

Xiaolongbao - Soup dumplings

  • Steamy, delicious, and perfect for cold days like the ones I've been experiencing here in Pittsburgh.
  • Getting it's name from the bamboo baskets they are steem in; "xialongs" these soup dumplings are generally associated with Shanghai. When handling and eating the baos, one must be careful on picking them up as you do not want to break the baos and losing it's amazing soupy goodness held within it's thin walls, surrounding the succulent piece of pork.

MVIMG_20180106_190659.jpg

Black Pepper Short Ribs

  • This is by far one of The most tender, tasteful, and rightfully done short ribs I've ever had! This dish was quite of a blast of flavors that I didn't not expect to experience from a tiny almost unknown Taiwanese restaurant in a place where Taiwanese foods is not much known.

MVIMG_20180106_192338.jpg

Crab and Tofu Soup

  • A refreshing way to start any Taiwainese dinner. This soup was graceful and light, perfectly defining the profiles of flavors that Tawainese foods is known for. This soup is a must for a cold winter day and I feel that a sprinkle of pepper pairs perfectly with this dish.

MVIMG_20180106_191158.jpg

Salt and Pepper Shrimp - Shell On

  • This dish is best served shells on as it keeps the shrimps perfectly juicy, holding most of the flavors from the salt and pepper without overpowering the natural sweetness of the shrimps. This dish pairs perfectly with a bowl full of white rice to balance out it's saltiness.

MVIMG_20180106_191838.jpg

Sweet and Sour Pork

  • This Chinese American dish is by far one of the most infamous dishes aside from it's poultry counterpart. This was done tastefully here at Taiwainese Bistro. The sour and sweetness in the dish blends perfectly in unison, almost like a well verse masquerade dance. Unlike what you are used to at the local panda express joint, this correct way of sweet and sour Pork was cooked with spare pork ribs and cooked to perfection. Every bite you take makes you taste buds crane for another, and by the time you realize it, the dish is already cleaned out!

MVIMG_20180106_192333.jpg

Beef Chow Fun (Beef Flat Noodles)

  • this dish actually was not what I wanted to order but oh my it was delicious. There are many renditions to this dish and flavors here at the Bistro is light and delicious unlike other restaurants where this same dish would be more on the spectrum of heavy and oily. Although it wasn't my order, I wouldn't have had it any other way, my girlfriend most definitely enjoyed this dish as much as I did!

MVIMG_20180106_192522.jpg

Chicken and Watercrest

  • The food of my childhood! Watercrest has always been a Vietnamese staple and the Taiwanese rendition of it isn't any less delicious ;) I thoroughly enjoyed this dish as it was the perfect compliment to my white rice and serves as our primary greens serving for the night. The slight sweet and saltiness that is natural to this vegetable is so dreamy that even kids who do not like veggies would crave for it!

IMG_20180106_192343.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, this food looks great I am going to follow you and upvote this!! great photos.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56542.34
ETH 2391.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30