Brownies: Salted caramel and dark chocolate

in #food7 years ago (edited)

G’day everyone. It is almost the end to our long weekend here in Melbourne. It is just weird how three days off can end so quickly but three working days take forever to get through. Anyone feels the same way? This weekend I didn’t have a chance to write about my cookings. Not that I didn’t do any. But it was more a case of finding time to take the pictures as the food was being prepared. Moreover, we had friends over on Saturday and then went to their place on Sunday.

In between all these activities I managed to prepare a salted caramel brownie and with the remaining fudge I’ve made another brownie with chocolate. I’ve also been busy researching a good recipe I can enter in the @cookwithus contest. Unfortunately I missed the initial post so will only be able to enter a recipe for week 2 of the contest. And from what I’ve seen the other participants proposed it certainly is going to be an interesting competition. If you haven’t had a chance to read the details of the competition please do so it is very interesting and is worth at the very least vote.

To come back to the salted caramel brownies, the recipe was inspired by Chef Donna Hay Back to Brilliance Tv Show. I must admit that have almost all of her books. And in some cases I might even have 2 of the same recipe book. If I may digress on Donna Hay, the reason why I enjoy her cooking books is that most of the ingredients are handy and easily available from the local shops. There are no fancy named ingredients that you have to source from complicated places. This is the appealing aspect of her books. Give it a try and you might just like. Having said that I tend to modify some of the ingredients, especially if it’s too fatty or sweet.

For the salted-caramel brownies I used the following ingredients:

  • 150g plain (all-purpose) flour
  • 75g cocoa
  • 130g Brown Sugar
  • 190g caster sugar
  • 175g unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 eggs
  • 100g caramel squares

Step 1

Place all the ingredients in a large bowl and mix until smooth.

Step 2

Add the caramel squares and stir to combine.

Step 3

Preheat oven to 160 degrees Celcius. Grease a square tin and line with non-stick baking paper. Spread the mixture into the tin. 

Step 4

Bake between 50 minutes and 1 hour or until the brownie is set. 

Step 5

Allow the brownie to cool down in the tin before slicing them into squares. You can serve with some vanilla ice-cream.

Step 6

In parallel, prepare the salted caramel sauce in pan by adding thicken cream, brown sugar, butter and salt. Once done add 1 tsp of vanilla extract. Cold down for two minutes then reserve in a jar for later use.

As I had some fudge remaining I’ve made a second brownie replacing the caramel squares with dark chocolate and made a raspberry coulis to accompany it.

!

I hope you enjoy!

Bon appétit!

Sort:  

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @tomekkk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

These brownies are so mouthwatering! Yummy! 😍

Thank you 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79