You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I have eaten Breakfast and Lunch for under $2 a day for the past 5 years

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Two years ago I was on a really tight budget. For about three months, I lived quite well on less than $25 a week. A loaf of bread was $1.89, a dozen eggs $2.99, two avocados were $1, lettuce was about a dollar a head, 2-3 tomatoes another dollar. Coffee, tea and orange juice--unlimited quantities at work at no cost. I drank water or tea at home. For around $9 per week, I was able to enjoy smashed avocado on toast with scrambled eggs for breakfast, and lettuce, tomato and mayo sandwiches for lunch. (A small jar of mayo cost $4 but lasted the entire month therefore cost was about $1 per week.) Dinners were simple and were typically vegetarian--lots of home made soup, beans with rice, and stir fry. Home-made apple sauce for dessert with free apples from my neighbour's trees (they fell into my yard so...). My current food cost is still low and I rarely spend more than $150 CDN a month on groceries--and that includes the odd take-out sushi. I don't usually eat breakfast on the weekends--just tea in the morning and a veggie omelette or french toast for lunch. I very rarely eat out. I'm healthy and trim from walking and cycling. I personally think people eat far too much. Studies have shown that a reduced calorie diet can add years to your life which might explain why my grandparents, who starved during the war, lived until their 90s in reasonably good health. Only one of the four developed dementia.

Sort:  

That's awesome! Thanks for sharing 😀

You're welcome. It really got me thinking about food budgets and then this morning I came across a financial article in the Globe and Mail. The couple profiled talk about living a "simple life" with few expenses but their monthly grocery bill was $700 and they spent an additional $200 eating out. They also spent $60 a month on coffee which included a bag of quality coffee beans, and a few trips to Starbucks. Total $960 CDN each month on food (plus $80 a month on booze) for two people. Their food bill was nearly as much as their monthly rent. How is that even possible?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67138.06
ETH 3678.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73