Yesterday I made it Rain on the garden, today it made it rain on ME!

in #food6 years ago

Sold 77 lbs beans & 83 lbs squash!


sales week 3 friday.JPG



Holy crap! 160 lbs of produce to deliver tomorrow morning. 30 lbs more than last week, and I still have available product. Another grocery store in Spokane is getting beans and squash for their produce department this week! Super cool! I have my little fridge completely stuffed, the livingroom fridge is stuffed with beans, the kitchen fridge has 10 lbs in it, I have 10 lbs sitting in front of the window a/c in the back room to keep them psuedo cooled.

IMG_20180725_173039673.jpg

I'm pricing out rigid foam insulation and am turning my old egg wash room into a walkin cooler. I will take the door off the fridge, mount it flush facing inward, then with the room insulated, shelves, and a door I will have a walk in cooler that will be 16 1/2 sqft. Probably going to be about $100 in insulation, but this thing will kick butt when I am done. I will be posting about it later once I get it rolling along more. It will have to be soon at the rate my garden is producing.

IMG_20180725_145455532.jpg

Now to go mix me up some beans to bag up for tomorrow.


Check out my blog @flemingfarm

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, following, or setting us to autovote on SteemAuto!


Sort:  

Congratulations @flemingfarm! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I would like to know how that cooler turns out. Interesting Idea

It is a product of necessity and funding, but also thinking it may end up being pretty energy efficient for the volume to keep cool. The fridge has a single door with an exposable freezer, so I think that metering the temp to the mid 40s F should prove fairly easy.

The initial faze will be the hard part. Keeping it there I don't see a problem if it is insulated to include the door gaps it will be fine. I thought it was a great idea. it is a great idea.
Might need a little fan to circulate air

making your own walk in cooler, that's awesome! Let us know how it works out!

I am buying the insulation today and will hopefully have the thing built this weekend. I need to asap as our fridges need room for OUR food, not just sale food. Pics and post will ensue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66117.27
ETH 3560.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.12