Fast Southern Crispy Chicken Dinner!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I love to cook! Some days I will wake up early and spend the whole day planning, shopping, and preparing a beautiful meal to share with family and friends. Each detail meticulously laid out so it’s not just a dinner, it’s an experience.

Tonight was not one of those times! Collins and I worked all day in our small business and it was already almost 8pm when I started cooking dinner, so I needed to make it fast. That’s why I made crispy chicken with roasted brussels sprouts and mini corn muffins.

20170813_205508.jpg

To make the chicken, I started by taking chicken thighs (I like these much better than chicken breasts as there is more flavor and moister), taking out the bones and extra fat and cutting it so it’s all the same width and laying flat. Then I made a wet mixture of 1 egg and a little mayonnaise (you could use sour cream or yogurt). The breading is a combination of fine bread crumbs, panko bread crumbs, fresh tarragon (could use any fresh or dried herb), some grated parmesan cheese, and lots of seasoning (tonight I used salt, pepper, garlic powder, cayenne, and dried minced garlic).

20170813_202815.jpg

I took the chicken thighs and dredged them in the wet mixture first, then the dry crumb mixture while making sure to press the mixture into the chicken to get as much possible to stick.

20170813_203343.jpg

Then I simply pan-fried it in a little vegetable oil. Served it with roasted brussels sprouts and mini corn muffins. Delish! This is a typical fast Southern meal!

Leah posting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41